Tobin And Mak Take Out Sydney FC Top Awards

Sydney FC’s double-winning Captain Natalie Tobin and Slovakian international Robert Mak have taken out the Player of the Year Awards at Sydney FC’s prestigious Sky Blue Ball.   

Centre-half Tobin became only the second Sky Blues skipper to lift both the Premiership and Championship in the same season as the Sky Blues Women secured a record breaking fifth Liberty A-League Premiership and record equalling fourth Championship.

Mak capped a stellar first season at the club notching ten goals and two assists in 27 appearances.

Tobin, who appeared on 19 occasions, scored three times and kept 10 clean sheets, was also named Members Player of the Year.

“It’s been an incredible year so far and these awards really cap it off,” she said.

“It’s such a privilege to play for this club and to win two Player of the Year Awards after the season we have had is a huge honour and something I’ll remember for a long time.

“We’ve got a fantastic squad and staff and I couldn’t have achieved this without them, so I’d like to thank them all,” she said,

“I must also thank my friends and family and the Sydney FC Members for their support, which as always is second to none.”

Princess Ibini, Mackenzie Hawkesby, Deborah-Anne De La Harpe and Natalie Tobin celebrate a double winning season at Sydney FC’s Sky Blue Ball at The Star

The pair claimed the top awards of the night as voted for by a select panel of Sydney FC football and coaching staff during the 2022/23 season.

Mak wins the top gong with club form which helped him earn a recall to the Slovakian national team where he scored in Euro 2024 qualifying against Bosnia.

The 32-year-old winger said he was extremely happy to be named top player.

“I’m really happy to win this award, the Sydney FC Player of the Year,” he said.

“It means a lot to me. I would like to thank my team-mates, the coaches, Sydney FC Members and everyone at the club. 

“Everybody helped me so much this season including my wife and my kids.

“It’s been a pleasure to play for this club and in front of these great supporters.

“I’m already looking forward to the new season.”

Alex Wilkinson & Teresa Polias are inducted into the Sydney FC Hall Of Fame

Club legends Alex Wilkinson and Teresa Polias were inducted into the Sydney FC Hall of Fame after fantastic careers spanning a combined 18 seasons, 11 major trophies wins and 366 appearances in Sky Blue.

Adam Le Fondre claimed the A-League Men’s Golden Boot, with Madison Haley picking up the Women’s award.

Patrick Wood and Sarah Hunter were named U20 Players of the Year while Sydney FC NPL NSW star Mitchell Glasson picked up the Rising Star award.

Sydney FC Sky Blue Ball confetti moment with double winning A-League Women’s squad.

Joshua Ryan won Powerchair Players’ Player of the Year Award.

Sydney FC volunteer and Liberty A-League Women’s kit manager Spiridon Apostolopoulos received the Chairman’s Award for his desire to go above and beyond for the club.

At the start of the evening guests and VIPs walked the iconic Sky Blue Carpet at The Star Sydney Event Centre before moving inside for formalities and a night to remember.