Sydney FC Sign Michael Zullo


Sydney FC have signed full back Michael Zullo on a two year deal for the Hyundai A-League 2016/17 and 2017/18 seasons.

Capped ten times for Australia, Zullo becomes Head Coach Graham Arnold’s 2nd signing during the Hyundai A-League off season following Socceroos centre half Alex Wilkinson’s decision to join the club. 

The versatile left footer, who can also play as a winger, will join the squad when they return to pre-season training on Monday 4th July, 2016.

“I am delighted and extremely excited to be joining Sydney FC,” said the 27-year old defender.

“This is a huge club with fantastic supporters and I can’t wait to get started.

“I’ve listened to Arnie’s plans for next season and I’m excited by what we can achieve and I’m confident we will still be challenging in the Champions League.”

Head Coach Graham Arnold believes the signing of Zullo is a brilliant addition for the club.

“Michael is a great signing for the club who will provide excellent cover on our left side after the departures of Alex Gersbach and Ali Abbas this year,” said Arnold.

“I worked with him in the Olympic team and know he is a fantastic guy and an outstanding player.

“He has lots of experience having represented the Socceroos and played in the Dutch first division.

“He is also an exciting player with pace and a fabulous left foot and I am looking forward to working with him again.”

Zullo has made 101 Hyundai A-League career appearances, scoring two goals while he featured 45 times for Dutch club FC Utrecht.



Age:                       27

Date of Birth:     11 September 1988

Place of Birth:    Brisbane


Club career:

2005-2007          Brisbane Strikers             45 games (11 goals)

2007-2010           Brisbane Roar                    62 (2)

2010-15                FC Utrecht (Netherlands) 45 (0)

2013-14 [loan]  Adelaide United               24 (0)

2015-16               Melbourne City                 15 (0)

2016 –                   Sydney FC



2008                   Australia U-23                     6 (1)

2009 –                Australia                             10 (0)