Sydney FC Complete A-League’s First Ever Premiership ‘Threepeat’

Sydney FC’s Liberty A-League Women’s squad have created history by winning a third consecutive Premiers Plate and in the process become the first team to lift silverware at the new Allianz Stadium.

The Sky Blues women defeated Newcastle Jets 4-0 this afternoon to move above Western United and lift the trophy on the final day of the regular season.

Never in A-League Men’s or Women’s history has a Premiership ‘threepeat’ been achieved.

Ante Juric’s squad now head into the Finals Series in two weeks time seeking a sixth consecutive Grand Final appearance and a record equalling fourth Championship.

Sydney FC players celebrate victory after winning the Premier’s Plate during the round 20 A-League Women’s match between Sydney FC and Newcastle Jets at Allianz Stadium.

Captain Natalie Tobin became only the second captain in Women’s history to lift the Plate twice in a row following in the footsteps of ex-Sydney FC skipper Heather Garriock in 2010.

“It feels fantastic to have set this new benchmark and we are all very happy,” said the five-time major trophy winner.

“To know we have created history and become the first team to win the Premiers Plate three times in a row is an achievement which will live with us all for a very long time.

“I’m so proud of our squad and everyone of our girls.  It has been a privilege to captain them.

“It’s very special and a great record to have but our goal is to win the Championship and we intend to keep going and complete the double.”

Captain Natalie Tobin celebrates with team mates and holds aloft the Premier’s Plate in front of The Cove.

Head Coach Ante Juric was full of praise for his young squad who have an average age of just 21 years old.

“These girls thoroughly deserve this accolade. They have worked hard and I hope they get the recognition and acknowledgement this achievement merits.

“We’ve had a lot to deal with this season but our players have overcome every hurdle put in their way and I’m delighted for them.

“It is extremely hard to continue to be successful as everyone steps up against us and wants to beat us so to become the only team in A-Leagues history to win three consecutive Premierships is a remarkable feat.

“There is more work to do and we are more determined than ever to ensure we finish the season on a high in the Finals Series.”

Mackenzie Hawkesby celebrates opening the scoring.

Sydney FC have won the competition more times than any other club with this fifth Premiership in the club’s history.

They are also clear on eight major Liberty A-Leagues Women’s titles (3 x Champions, 5 x Premiers) ahead of the six won by Melbourne City.

The Sky Blues will face Western United on Sunday 16th April in a 1st vs 2nd clash to determine who will proceed straight to the Grand Final.  Kick is at 5.45pm.