Sydney FC Attempt To Become World Champions


Sydney FC’s Championship winning Westfield W-League team fly off to Japan this week as they attempt to become mobcast International Women’s Club Champions.

Sydney FC-s Championship winning Westfield W-League team fly off to Japan this week as they attempt to become mobcast International Women-s Club Champions.

The Sky Blues will face opposition from Europe, South America and Asia having qualified for the tournament by winning the 2012/13 Westfield W-League Championship.

Coach Alen Stajcic and his squad leave on Wednesday morning (27 November) and their first round fixture will take place against Japanese Women-s League runners-up NTV Beleza on Saturday (30 November, kick off 1430 AEDT) in Okayama.

England-s FA Women-s Super League club Chelsea Ladies await the winners in the semi-final on December 4 and should they make the final, they will face either CSD Colo-Colo Femenino from Chile, the winner of the 2012 Copa Libertadores Feminino, or Japanese Women-s League Champions Inac Kobe Leonessa on December 8 in Tokyo.

“The girls are really looking forward to the trip and are keen to perform well,” said Head Coach Alen Stajcic. “We-ve had a good start to the season so far in the Westfield W-League and we need to ensure we continue to keep up that consistency of performance when we play in Japan.”

The Sky Blues have scored nine goals, conceding one in two games so far this season and sit on top of the Westfield W-League but Stajcic isn-t taking anything for granted.

“This tournament will be a big step up for us and we will need to be switched on and playing at our best to do well. Either way it will be a great experience for everyone in the squad to be representing Australia, and hopefully we can do our club and country proud.”

The Sydney FC 2013/14 Westfield W-League Playing Squad is: Casey Du Mont (gk), Sham Khamis (gk), Danielle Brogan (captain), Alesha Clifford, Caitlin Foord, Amy Harrison, Ellyse Perry, Elizabeth Ralston, Renee Rollason, Teresa Polias (vice-captain), Nicola Bolger, Trudi Camilleri, Samantha Kerr, Chloe Logarzo, Natalie Tobin, Leena Khamis, Emma Kete, Jodie Taylor, Anna Green.

Match Schedule

Saturday 30 November – First Round
NTV Beleza (Japan) vs Sydney FC (M1)
1430 AEDT – Okayama

Wednesday 4 December – Semi Final 1
Inac Kobe Leonessa v CSD Colo-Colo (Chile) (M2)
2000AEDT – Kagoshima

Wednesday 4 December – Semi Final 2
Chelsea Ladies FC v Winner of M1 (M3)
2030AEDT – Okayama

Saturday 7 December – 3rd Place Play Off
Loser of M2 vs Loser of M3 (M4)
1510AEDT – Kagoshima

Sunday 8 December – Final
Winner of M2 v Winner of M3 (M5)
1510AEDT – Tokyo