Youth Sky Blues Look To Turn The Tables

A win over Perth Glory at Parramatta Stadium on Sunday evening (2pm-kick-off) would see Sydney FC’s National Youth League side move into the competition’s top four.

A win over Perth Glory at Parramatta Stadium on Sunday evening (2pm-kick-off) would see Sydney FC-s National Youth League side move into the competition-s top four.

After a sizzling start to the season, the defending premiers have been outside the top four for the last two months but a victory over the Glory would see them move to 34 points and if Adelaide United slipped up at home, the Sky Blues could find themselves as high as equal second.

In their last four games, the Young Sky Blues have collected eight points from a possible twelve and have turned in vastly improved defensive performances.

However, Steve O-Connor-s men will need to continue their strong defensive showings against the third placed Glory, a side that has put six goals past them in their two previous meetings this season.

Perth claimed a 3-1 win at Members Equity Stadium back on 22 November 2009 before the sides played out a thrilling 3-all draw at Dorrien Gardens in Perth on Sunday 10 January.

The Sky Blues went ahead twice that day before coming from 3-2 down to secure a vital away point.

Sydney FC was boosted by stellar performances from creative midfielders Brendan Gan and Iain Ramsay last week and the impressive debut of Justin Hayward.

Hayward got his Sydney FC career off to a dream start, netting his first ever goal for the club in the 10th minute in the teams- 2-1 away win over Brisbane Roar.

While much of the focus has been on defence for Sydney FC, Perth Glory will need to be focused at the back with the Sky Blues bagging a super impressive 15 goals in their last six games and have not gone scoreless since Sunday 8 November 2009 – a run of 11 straight games.

The referee for the match is Kurt Ams.

Sydney FC squad: Nenad VEKIC (gk), Steve TIBBETS, Mitchell SPEER, Joseph GIBBS, Sam GALLAGHER, Dimitri PETRATOS, Hussein AKIL, Iain RAMSAY, Joel CHIANESE, Tim MCGOWAN, Ray MILLER, Luke AUSTIN, Mark PULLMAN (gk), Sam MUNRO (c), Anthony GOLEC, Adam CASEY (OA), Justin HAYWARD

Unavailable: Nil