Young Sky Blues Storm Out To Record Breaking Championship


Sydney FC 5 (Swibel 6’, Tilio 45+4’pen, 73’, Hollman 56’, Koop 71’) def. Melbourne Victory 1 (Lawrie-Lottanzio 36’)

Sydney FC have taken out the Foxtel Y-League 2019/2020 Championship in a record breaking 5-1 win as the club becomes the first in history to hold the three Championship trophies in Australia’s footballing leagues.

Moments That Mattered:

  1.  Swibel Goal – 6’ – An accurate cross from Fay finds Swibel in the box who blasts it into the roof of the net to open the scoring.
  2. Kaye Save – 25’ – A huge save from the Sky Blues goalkeeper as he palms away Lawrie-Lattanzio’s one-on-one effort.
  3. Kaye Save – 26’ – Kaye proving too strong in goal again as he stretches out to stop a long range effort from Kirdar.
  4. Lawrie-Lottanzio Goal – 36’ – Victory equalise against the run of play with a powered shot at the near-post.
  5. Tilio Goal – 45+4’ – Sydney FC regain the lead after Main was fouled in the box before Tilio slams in from the spot.
  6. Swibel Chance – 52’ – Nieuwenhof’s chipped through ball found Swibel but the striker could only find the foot of Sutton.
  7. Hollman Goal – 56’ – Sydney FC double their advantage as Hollman taps in the rebound following Talbot’s free-kick.
  8. Koop Goal – 71’ – The substitute scores with his first touch of the ball with an easy tap-in following a goalkeeper parry.
  9. Tilio Goal – 73’ – Fay with yet another perfect cross, this time finding Tilio at the back post who heads home.
  10. Wood Disallowed Goal – 90+4’ – Substitute Wood almost gets in on the action with a poached effort but is called back for offside.  

Tilio & Swibel Celebrate

Picture: Jaime Castaneda

What They Said:

Head Coach Jimmy Van Weeren: “I’m feeling somewhat relieved and justified for the boys who have had a top season and this is the reward they deserved.”

Jordi Swibel: “Our class outshone them today and Sydney FC won again and it’s great to add another trophy to the cabinet.”


The Young Sky Blues got out to a perfect start with Swibel capitalising on a pin-point low cross from Fay to open the scoring early on.

Kaye proved strong in goal with two top class saves to deny Lawrie-Lottanzio and Kirdar midway through the half.

Lawrie-Lottanzio then punished the Sky Blues defence to equalise but Tilio smashed in from the penalty-spot to push Sydney FC back in-front at the break.

The pressure continued into the second half with Swibel going close, then Hollman reacted first to a Talbot free-kick that struck the post to make it three.

The Sky Blues put the game beyond doubt when both Koop and Tilio got into the goal-scoring action to help claim Sydney FC’s fourth Youth Championship in 33 years – the most of any club.

It also means the club holds the Hyundai A-League, Westfield W-League and Foxtel Y-League Championship simultaneously which is a first for any club.

Sydney FC Foxtel Youth League Champions 2019-20

Picture: Jaime Castaneda

Sydney FC: 20. Levi KAYE, 4. Anton MLINARIC, 5. Thomas FAY (12. Patrick WOOD 87’), 6. Calem NIEUWENHOF, 7. Jake HOLLMAN, 10. Marco TILIO (19. Jayden TRENKOSKI 84’), 11. Jaiden KUCHARSKI (9. Benjamin KOOP 67’), 13. Jordan SWIBEL, 14. Thomas MAIN, 15. Scott BROWNING, 17. Callum TALBOT.

Subs Not Used: 3. Aaron GURD, 19. Jayden TRENKOSKI, 1. Adam PAVLESIC (GK).

Yellow Cards: Anton Mlinaric 54’, Jaiden Kucharski 66’.

Red Cards: None.


Melbourne Victory: 1. Matthew SUTTON, 2. So NISHIKAWA, (16. Matthew BOZINOVSKI 11’), 3. Zaydan BELLO, 4. Aaron ANDERSON, 5. Dalibor MARKOVIC, 6. Jack MORTON, 7. Nishan VELUPILLAY (12. Ryan LETHLEAN 67’), 8. William WILSON (Nicholas HAMAKIOTIS 80’), 9. Luis LAWRIE-LATTANZIO, 10. Joshua VARGA, 11. Birkan KIRDAR.

Subs Not Used: 14. Jack PALAZZOLO, 20. Marko BULIC (GK).

Yellow Cards: Jack Morton 43’, Dalibor Markovic 68’, Aaron ANDERSON 84’.

Red Cards: None.


Referee: Nathan Shakespear

Ground: Netstrata Jubilee Stadium


thin wsw