Young Sky Blues Finish Season In Emphatic Style


Sydney FC’s Foxtel Y-League squad completed their regular season campaign with an emphatic 7-0 win over Canberra United at Leichhardt Oval on Saturday.

The result also saw the Young Sky Blues go through the season undefeated and be crowned Conference B Premiers with five wins and three draws amassing an amazing 37 goals for and 15 against in 8 matches.

Sydney FC started with all guns blazing and ran out to a three goal lead after just 12 minutes as Jake Hollman found the opener after seven minutes followed by a quickfire brace from Benjamin Koop in the 11th and 12th minutes.

Hollman then chimed in with his second following a neat 1-2 combination play inside the penalty area to make it 4-0.

Marco Tilio was not to be denied after playing a hand in the opening goals, and in added time he rounded the keeper to slot home his ninth of the season to extend the lead to 5-0 at the break.

The second half was much of the same and if not for some heroics between the sticks by Canberra skipper Sam Brown the scoreline could of been much greater.

Koop completed a stellar performance when he side footed inside the far post to nab his hat-trick for 6-0 before Fletcher McFarlane was on hand the to get the final touch as the ball ricocheted around the penalty box for 7-0.

The Y-League Grand Final will be a #BigBlue affair as Melbourne Victory won Conference A when they accounted for Adelaide United 4-1 to secure their place in the Grand Final show down at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium on Friday, 31st January 4:30pm (AEDT).

Sydney FC 7 (Ben Koop 3; Jake Hollman 2; Marco Tilio 1; Fletch McFarlane 1) defeated Canberra United 0

Line Up: Levi Kaye (GK) (Adam Pavlesic (GK) 70’); Callum Talbot; Scott Browning; Anton Mlinaric (Fletcher McFarlane 65’); Jayden Trenkoski; Calem Nieuwenhof; Tom Fay; Marco Tilio (Jaiden Kucharski 50’); Jake Hollman; Jordi Swibel (Adrian Segecic 60’); Benjamin Koop


thin bri