Three Sky Blues Take Home Awards


Three Sky Blues took home accolades at the annual Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League end of season awards on Monday night.

Sydney FC Marquee Marc Janko clinich the Hyundai A-League Nike Golden Boot with 16 goals, a Sydney FC record, while Westfield W-League star Amy Harrison won the Westfield W-League Young Player of the Year award following a stand out season for Sydney FC.

Young Sky Blue, and recent Young Socceroos call up, George Blackwood won the Foxtel National Youth League Player of the Year after his hot form in front of goal saw him finish at the top of the goalscoring charts to round out the Sky Blues award winners.

Nathan Burns from the Wellington Phoenix has claimed the Johnny Warren Medal, the Hyundai A-League’s Players’ Player Award at the gala Hyundai A-League & Westfield W-League 2014/15 Awards night which was held at the Carriageworks in Sydney tonight.

Emily van Egmond took out the Westfield W-League’s highest honour, the Julie Dolan Medal, Liam Youlley (Western Sydney Wanderers FC) tying with George Blackwood for the title of Foxtel National Youth League Player of the Year.

Burns, won the Johnny Warren Medal receiving 577 votes from his playing peers, ahead of Marcelo Carrusca (366 votes), Fahid Ben Khalfallah (307 votes), Kosta Barbarouses (277 votes) and Sergio Cirio (245 points).

James Jeggo was named the NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award ahead of Brandon Borello (Brisbane Roar FC), Jamie Maclaren (Perth Glory), Terry Antonis (Sydney FC) and Tomi Juric (Western Sydney Wanderers. Jeggo will receive a $10,000 NAB personal investment portfolio, along with a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with a range of banking and financial services.

Melbourne Victory’s Premiership winning Head Coach Kevin Muscat received the Hyundai A-League Coach of the Year Award and Peter McGuinness from the Newcastle Jets was named the Westfield W-League Coach of the Year.

Perth Glory’s Kathryn Gill was the Westfield W-League 2014/15 Golden Boot winner courtesy of her 12 goals throughout the season while Perth Glory’s Samantha Kerr picked up the Westfield W-League’s Players’ Player of the Year Award. 

Eugene Galekovic collected the Hyundai A-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award for a record fourth time and Mackenzie Arnold from Perth Glory received the Westfield W-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award.

Adelaide United defender Tarek Elrich scored the Hyundai A-League the Goal of the Year Award for his Round 27 solo effort against Melbourne City FC. Ashleigh Sykes from Canberra United scored the Westfield W-League Goal of the Year for her strike against Perth Glory in Round 12.

Wellington Phoenix picked up the Hyundai A-League Fair Play Award for accruing the least number of yellow and red card points. Adelaide United won the Westfield W-League Fair Play Award with Brisbane Roar FC winning the Foxtel National Youth League Fair Play Award.

Jarred Gillet was named the Hyundai A-League Referee of the Year award for the second time in his career whilst Kate Jacewicz from Brisbane collected the Westfield W-League’s Referee of the Year for the fifth time.




Johnny Warren Medal (Player of the Year) – Nathan Burns – Wellington Phoenix

NAB Young Footballer of the Year – James Jeggo – Adelaide United

Goalkeeper of the Year – Eugene Galekovic – Adelaide United

Nike Golden Boot Award – Marc Janko – Sydney FC (16 Goals)

Goal of the Year – Tarek Elrich – Adelaide United (Round 27 v Melbourne City FC)

Coach of the Year – Kevin Muscat – Melbourne Victory

Fair Play Award – Wellington Phoenix

Referee of the Year – Jarred Gillett

Foxtel National Youth League Player of the Year – George Blackwood (Sydney FC) and Liam Youlley (Western Sydney Wanderers FC)

Foxtel National Youth League Fair Play Award – Brisbane Roar FC



Julie Dolan Medal – Emily van Egmond – Newcastle Jets

Young Player of the Year Award – Amy Harrison – Sydney FC

Players Player of the Year – Samantha Kerr – Perth Glory

Goalkeeper of the Year – Mackenzie Arnold – Perth Glory

Goal of the Year – Ashleigh Sykes – Canberra United (Round 12)

Coach of the Year – Peter McGuinness – Newcastle Jets

Golden Boot Award – Kathryn Gill – Perth Glory (12 goals)

Fair Play Award – Adelaide United

Referee of the Year – Kate Jacewicz

Sydney FC take on English Premier League giants Tottenham Hotspur in a football classic at ANZ Stadium on Saturday 30 May. Purchase your tickets today for this not to be missed football event!