Sydney FC Promote Young Attacker


Sydney FC have promoted promising young attacker Chris Zuvela to their Hyundai A-League squad as one of the three eligible U20 players, the club confirmed today.

The promotion will see Zuvela feature as a member of Head Coach Graham Arnold’s Hyundai A-League playing squad for the 2017/18 season.

Zuvela has featured in Sydney FC’s Foxtel National Youth League and PS4 NPL NSW squads since linking with the Sky Blues’ youth set up in 2013.

The 20 year old attacker said he was excited to be joining the Hyundai A-League Premiers and Champions as a member of the first team.

“I’ve been here for a long time so it’s very pleasing to get my chance with the A-League squad,” Zuvela said.

“It’s good to say the hard work pays off, but there’s still more to come and I look forward to improving my game.

“I want to play as much as possible in the A-League. To play alongside players like Brillante and O’Neill would be a great feeling.”

Head Coach Graham Arnold said he was pleased to have Zuvela on board for the coming season.

“I always believe in promoting youth and Chris is a perfect example of the fantastic pathway our Academy can provide,” Arnold said.

“Chris has all the attributes of a Sydney FC player, he has been outstanding in our youth team and I’m pleased to welcome him as a part of the A-League team.

“I’m looking forward to seeing Chris develop even further when exposed to our A-League environment and I expect him to be challenging for a place, as is expected of all my players.”

Zuvela boasts caps for the Australian U23 national side and becomes the latest graduate of the Sky Blues’ youth set up, following in the footsteps of stars such as Matthew Jurman, Rhyan Grant, Aaron Calver and Charles Lokolingoy to make the leap from Sydney FC’s youth squad to Hyundai A-League level.


Sydney FC’s Hyundai A-League Season 2017/18 Playing Squad:

1 – Andrew REDMAYNE

2 – Aaron CALVER


5 – Jordy BUIJS


7 – Michael ZULLO

8 – Paulo RETRE

9 – BOBÔ

10 – Milos NINKOVIC

13 – Brandon O’NEILL

14 – Alex BROSQUE

17- David CARNEY

18 – Matt SIMON

19 – Chris ZUVELA

20 – Alex CISAK

21 – Charles LOKOLINGOY

22 – Seb RYALL

23 – Rhyan GRANT


*Please note playing numbers are subject to change

Sydney FC take on Darwin Rovers in the Westfield FFA Cup Round of 32 on Wednesday 2 August (kick off 7:30pm AEST). Catch the match streamed live on foxsports.com.au  or follow @SydneyFC on Twitter for updates.

2017/18 Sydney FC Memberships available NOW. Full Season Memberships available from $270 for Adults and $630 for families, or if you can’t commit to all games non-ticketed Memberships from $75! Become a Sky Blue Member today – CLICK HERE