Sydney FC makes it two from two with 2-1 win

Sydney FC made it two wins from two games in the Hyundai A-League with a 2-1 victory over the Newcastle United Jets at Canberra Stadium today.

Sydney FC made it two wins from two games in the Hyundai A-League with a 2-1 victory over the Newcastle United Jets at Canberra Stadium today.

Sydney FC dominated in the first half, scoring two early goals before Newcastle mounted a late comeback in front of 7226 fans in the Nations Capital.

Goals to Nikolai Topor-Stanley and Robbie Middleby sent Sydney FC to the top of Group B.

Sydney FC lost Captain Mark Rudan to a knee strain on the morning of the match, adding further to the player drain with Ruben Zadkovich, Jacob Timpano and Jeremy Brockie also on the sidelines for varying periods with injury.

His place in the squad was taken by 18-year-old defender Wade Oostendorp, who took his place on the bench alongside Sasho Petrovski, David Carney and Justin Pasfield.

Coach Terry Butcher was true to his word in rotating the starting line up with Robbie Middleby, Nikolai Topor-Stanley and David Zdrilic coming into the starting side for Carney, Petrovski and Rudan.

Topor-Stanley, who spent time playing in Canberra, made an instant impact when he scored inside the first three minutes to put Sydney FC into the lead.

Middleby was fouled near the byline and from the resulting free kick, Ufuk Talay found the 21-year-old who powered a header past the stranded Ben Kennedy in goal for Newcastle.

Sydney FC dominated proceedings early and could have added to its tally with David Zdrilic coming close on three occasions, thanks largely to Middleby, who was mobile and dangerous on the right flank.

It was Middleby himself who added to the tally in the 25th minute when he was gifted a bizarre goal. A Sydney FC corner was cleared to the edge of the penalty area and Middleby lobbed it back towards the six yard box only for Nick Carle to ruct his own goalkeeper and send the ball into the back of the net.

Newcastle did create a couple of openings late in the first half with Matt Thompson managing to get the ball past Clint Bolton in the Sydney FC goal only for defender Iain Fyfe to clear the ball off the goal line.

Butcher made an unforced change for Sydney FC at half time with Justin Pasfield coming into the match for Bolton.

Newcastle replaced Adam D-Apuzzo with Stuart Musialik at the break but the momentum stayed the same in the early stages of the second half with Alex Brosque forcing a good save out of Kennedy in the 54th minute.

Sydney FC made a second change in the 67th minute with Sasho Petrovski replacing David Zdrilic.

A minute later Newcastle pulled a goal back when an innocuous cross was deflected by Terry McFlynn into the path of Pasfield but the ball found its way under his body for the softest of goals.

Although the goal was soft it was deserved by the Jets after fighting their way back into the game in the second half.

Sydney FC completed its allowed substitutes in the 76th minute when Wade Oostendorp and David Carney came into the match for Mark Milligan and Alex Brosque.

Sydney FC did regain the ascendancy late in the game and should have added to the score when Sasho Petrovski spurned a chance in the final minute.

Sydney FC now turns its attention to next weekend-s clash with the New Zealand Knights in Auckland.

Sydney FC 2 (Nikolai Topor-Stanley 3, Robbie Middleby 25) d Newcastle Jets 1 (Terry McFlynn og 68)

Canberra Stadium
Referee: Ben Williams
Crowd: 7226

Sydney FC
1. Clint Bolton
2. Iain Fyfe
3. Alvin Ceccoli
6. Ufuk Talay
7. Robbie Middleby
9. David Zdrilic
10. Steve Corica
14. Alex Brosque
15. Terry McFlynn
16. Mark Milligan
21. Nikolai Topor-Stanley

11. Sasho Petrovski on for 9. David Zdrilic (67th minute)
12. David Carney on for Alex Brosque (76th minute)
18. Wade Oostendorp on for Mark Milligan (76th minute)
20. Justin Pasfield (gk) on for 1. Clint Bolton (46th minute)

Yellow cards: Steve Corica 90.

Newcastle Jets
20. Ben Kennedy
3. Jade North
6. Andrew Durante
8. Matthew Thompson
9. Vaughan Coveny
10. Nick Carle
12. Paul Okon
13. Adam D-Apuzzo
14. Jobe Wheelhouse
16. Labinot Haliti
19. Mark Bridge

11. Tarek Elrich
15. Stuart Musialik on for 13. Adam D-Apuzzo (46th minute)
17. Tolgay Ozbey on for 12. Paul Okon (78th minute)
21. Troy Hearfield on for 6. Andrew Durante (90th minute)

Yellow cards: Adam D-Apuzzo 2, Matt Thompson 73.