Sydney FC Crowned Champions For Fourth Time

Sydney FC are Liberty A-League Women’s Champions for a record equalling fourth time after a 4-0 win over Western United in this afternoon’s Grand Final, in front of a record crowd of 9,519 at Commbank Stadium.

It’s the second time in the Sky Blues history they have completed the ‘Double’ by winning the Premiership and Championship in the same season.

A brace from Player Of The Match Madison Haley and goals from Captain Nat Tobin and Princess Ibini secured the title which is the Sky Blues ninth major domestic Women’s trophy.

Madison Haley celebrates opening the scoring.

Head Coach Ante Juric wins his second Championship in his 6th consecutive Grand Final as Sydney FC coach.

“My players have been phenomenal all season and I’m immensely proud of everything they have achieved,” he said.

“The pressure has been on them since the start but even more so in the last few weeks and they’ve overcome every challenge.

“For a squad with an average age of 21 years old, that’s incredible. 

“They are winners, they are the best team in Australia and I’m certain they will continue to improve and reach new levels every season.”

Princess Ibini scores the match-sealing penalty.

Captain Natalie Tobin wins the ‘Double’ in her second year in the role.

“It has been an amazing experience and I couldn’t have asked for a better group of players to lead,” she said.

“Our group is so close and our friendship and bond has been as tight off the field as it has been on it.

“This squad fully deserves this Championship; the girls have played some brilliant football this season and it has been so enjoyable to be a part of.

“On behalf of the team, I’d like to thank everyone connected with the club from our staff to our partners and our Members and fans.

“I hope you all celebrate and enjoy this moment with us.”

Sydney FC has appeared in every Finals Series since the A-League Women’s inception.

The title marks the club’s 30th title in domestic and international competition.