No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled
No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled

Please update your browser

Unfortunately you cannot view this website on the current version of your browser. Please either update your browser or use an alternative browser.

Mar 26, 2017   |  11:11AM AET

Sydney FC Create Points Record History In Perth

Sydney FC Create Points Record History In Perth

Sydney FC have created football history by setting a new points record for a ten team Hyundai A-League competition, incredibly with three games remaining.

Sydney FC 3 (Goian og 39’, O’Neill 40’, Bobô 63’) Perth Glory 0

The newly crowned Premiers have amassed an enormous 59 points from a possible 72 already this season and have their sights set on beating Brisbane Roar’s all time points record of 65 from an 11 team comp.

Goals from Bobô, Brandon O’Neill and an own goal from Romanian debutant Goian gave the Sky Blues a comfortable 3-0 over Perth Glory.

Melbourne City are the next challenge as Graham Arnold’s men continue to strive to break more records.

Brandon celebrates his goal


What They Said

Graham Arnold: “I’m happy about the attitude and performance today.  It was a wonderful achievement by the players and the staff and the club to win the Premiership with four rounds to go.

“Today it was about standards and they were very good.  Our performance was excellent and we totally dominated them.

“We’ve now made history in 59 points in a ten-team competition. We’ve got three games to go; Brisbane Roar got 65 in an 11 team comp so we’ll chase that.

“It’s a wonderful achievement – 59 points in 24 games, the maximum you can get is 81. 

“We’re striving every week to break more records, we’ve got more goals to achieve and there is no foot off the pedal.

“We play Melbourne City on Saturday and we will make a statement against them.”



39’ GOIAN OWN GOAL – Buijs takes a corner from the right which misses everyone and goes in off the knee of debutant Goian.

40’ O’NEILL GOAL – O’Neill receives a square pass from Bobô and drills the ball home from range on his return to Perth.

63’ BOBÔ GOAL – Sublime defence splitting pass from Ninkovic finds Brosque who backheels in the box for Bobô to tap home.

Ninkovic challenges Taggart


Key Moments

22’ BOBÔ CHANCE – O’Neill crosses on the right to Bobô who brings the ball down but Risdon gets a late tackle in to put the ball behind.

23′ O’NEILL CHANCE – O’Neill dispossesses Marinkovic inside his own half and bears down on goal but his shot is over.

29′ BOBÔ CHANCE – Ninkovic cuts out a pass, gets to the byline and crosses to Bobô who is stretching as he shoots wide.

32′ BROSQUE CHANCE – Brosque feeds Bobô who gets into the box and cuts it back to the skipper to fire a shot just over.

49′ HOLOSKO CHANCE – Holosko plays a one two with Bobô and uses his strength to get clear and shoot but Reddy makes a good save with his knee.

55′ GREAT SAVE REDDY – Brillante and Brosque combine to free Bobô but Reddy makes a brillant save down low.

73’ GOAL DISALLOWED – Castro has the ball in the back of the net but he is ruled offside.

76’ BROSQUE CHANCE – Carney flicks the ball over his head to Brosque and he hits a first time shot just wide.


Team News

Sydney FC 3 (Goian og 39’, O’Neill 40’, Bobô 63’) Perth Glory 0

Head Coach Graham Arnold was forced into two changes with the absence of his two Socceroos stars Danny Vukovic and Rhyan Grant.  Andrew Redmayne came in for his first start of the season in goal with young Thomas Heward-Belle deputising on the bench.  Meanwhile Milos Dimitrijevic replaced Rhyan Grant with Josh Brillante moving to right full back.

Ground: nib Stadium

Referee: Kris Griffiths Jones

Attendance: 10,097.

Calver leaps highest

Sydney FC:  1. Andrew REDMAYNE (gk), 4. Alex WILKINSON, 5. Jordy BUIJS (12. Aaron CALVER 60’), 6. Joshua BRILLANTE, 7. Michael ZULLO, 8. Milos DIMITRIJEVIC, 9. BOBÔ, 10. Milos NINKOVIC (17. David CARNEY 75’), 13. Brandon O’NEILL, 14. Alex BROSQUE (c), 21. Filip HOLOSKO (11. Bernie IBINI 63’).

Subs not used: 40. Thomas HEWARD-BELLE (gk), 18. Matt SIMON.

Yellow cards: O’Neill 46’, Wilkinson 80’, Brillante 83’, Brosque 83’.

Red cards: None.


Perth Glory FC: 33.Liam REDDY (gk), 6.Dino DJULBIC, 9.Andy KEOGH (c), 10.Nebo MARINKOVIC (11.Richard GARCIA 34’), 14.Chris HAROLD (7.Joel CHIANESE 66’), 16.Joe MILLS, 17.Diego CASTRO, 19.Josh RISDON, 20.Aryn WILLIAMS, 22.Adam TAGGART, 26.Lucian GOIAN (18. Mitch OXBORROW 59’).

Subs not used: 13.Nick FEELY (gk), 3.Marc WARREN.

Yellow cards: Goian 25’.

Red cards: None.