Sydney FC clinch National Youth League title


Sydney FC collected the National Youth League crown with three matches to spare thanks to a hard-working 2-1 home win over Brisbane Roar.

Sydney FC collected the National Youth League crown with three matches to spare thanks to a hard-working 2-1 home win over Brisbane Roar.

It was an unusually tough day’s work for the Sky Blues who have netted 45 goals in their 14 previous outings en route to their second title.

Two early goals set Sydney on their way and although a second half strike from the Roar soon after half-time made for some nervy moments, the home side’s goal was rarely threatened.

Warm conditions at Sydney United Sports Centre in the city’s west necessitated drinks break in each half, but the match was nevertheless played at a good tempo.

Silky-skilled midfielder Terry Antonis made the difference in his ongoing return from a thigh injury, scoring the first goal and setting up the second.

Antonis started and finished the opener on nine minutes after Alec Urosevski cut the ball back for the former Young Socceroo to strike home.

Antonis set up the second 12 minutes later with a defence-splitting ball that released Mallia, and the prolific Sydney No.9 duly doubled the lead as the Sky Blues put one hand on the trophy.

Brisbane, however, made several forays into the penalty area but scrambling defence and some safe hands from goalkeeper Anthony Bouzanis largely kept the threat at bay.

Samuel Sibatuara threatened to spoil the party when he pulled a goal back soon after half-time as he finished from close range after a short pass on the edge of the penalty area from Brandon Borrello.

Sydney came close to putting the contest out of sight several times during the middle stages of the second half, but couldn’t quite find the target for the clincher.

Ultimately, the Sky Blues did more than enough to win and were left celebrating at full time, with the trophy and medals presented by FFA head of high performance Luke Casserly and Young Socceroos coach Paul Okon.

Sydney FC 2 (Terry Antonis 9′, Mitch Mallia 21′)
Brisbane Roar 1 (Samuel Sibatuara 57′)

Sydney FC: 1. Anthony Bouzanis, 2. Luke Clifford (5. Daniel Petkovski 60’), 3. Aaron Calver, 4. Jacob Tratt (c), 9. Mitch Mallia (10. Blake Powell 52’), 11. Alec Urosevski, 12. Terry Antonis (19. Joshua Symonds 60’), 14. Joshua MacDonald, 15. Themba Muata-Marlow, 16. Christopher Naumoff, 18 Anthony Tomelic

Substitutes: 20. Tristan Prendergast (gk)

Cautions: Joshua McDonald 71’, Alex Urosevski 88’

Brisbane Roar: 1. Fraser Chalmers (gk), 2. Jaiden Walker, 3. Cameron Crestani, 4. Lachlan Jackson, 5. Luke Pavlou (12. Julius Davies 60’), 6. Benjamin Litfin, 7. Samuel Sibatuara (15. Samuel Altundag 60’), 9. Jai Ingham (14. Shelford Dais 60’), 10. Devante Clut, 11. Brandon Borrello, 16. Patrick Theodore

Substitutes: 20. Damien Cox (gk)

Cautions: Samuel Altundag 83’