Sydney FC claims Westfield W-League Championship


Sydney FC won its second Westfield W-League Championship after defeating Melbourne Victory 3-1 in a dominant display at AAMI Park today

Sydney FC won its second Westfield W-League Championship after defeating Melbourne Victory 3-1 in a dominant display at AAMI Park today.

Goals to Nicola Bolger, Sam Kerr and Kyah Simon ensured Alen Stajcic-s team became the second Sydney FC team to take out the biggest prize in Australian women-s football after tasting victory in 2009.

Sydney FC started the match strongly with Chloe Logarzo and Kerr looking dangerous down the flanks as the Sky Blues made the most of early possession.

Renee Rollason had the first chance of the match when she turned two Victory defenders on the edge of the penalty area only to see her shot well saved by Victory-s Matildas goalkeeper Brianna Davey

The Sky Blues converted its early dominance by taking a 25th minute lead when Bolger charged down an errant back pass with Davey-s clearance ricocheting into the Sydney FC midfielder and into an empty net.

Melbourne Victory managed to get back into the match as the first half progressed and equalised on 41 minutes when a free kick by Petra Larsson found the back of the net courtesy of the right hand post.

The teams went to the break with the scores locked at 1-1.

Sydney FC wasted no time re-taking the ascendancy after the break with Kerr scoring a magnificent diving header from a Kyah Simon cross in the 48th minute to go ahead 2-1.

The second half produced some good football and chances aplenty with both goalkeepers pulling off wonderful saves.

Sky Blues goalkeeper Sham Khamis, who was brave throughout, denied Melbourne Victory with a point blank save in the 62nd minute before Simon was denied Sydney FC-s third goal by Davey, who dived full length to stop a 66th minute effort.

The game was put beyond doubt in the 85th minute when Simon banged home a penalty after substitute Larissa Crummer was bundled over in the penalty area by Maika Ruyter-Hooley, who was duly shown a red card.

At 3-1 the match was safe and Sydney FC was crowned Westfield W-League Champions for 2012/13.

Sydney FC 3 (Nicola Bolger 25, Sam Kerr 48, Kyah Simon 85) d Melbourne Victory 1 (Petra Larsson 41)
Referee: Kate Jacewicz
Crowd: 4181

Sydney FC: 20. Sham KHAMIS, 2. Teresa POLIAS, 3. Elizabeth RALSTON, 4. Sam KERR, 7. Nicola BOLGER (13. Larissa CRUMMER ‘80), 9. Caitlin FOORD, 10. Renee ROLLASON, 11. Annalie LONGO (18. Brittany Whitfield ‘92) 12. Chloe LOGARZO (6. Natalie TOBIN ‘86), 14. Alanna KENNEDY, 17. Kyah SIMON.
Subs not used: 8. Amy HARRISON, 1. Sian MCLAREN (GK).

Melbourne Victory: 1. Brianna DAVEY, 2. Danielle JOHNSON, 3. Maika RUYTER-HOOLEY, 4. Rebekah STOTT, 5. Laura SPIRANOVIC, 6. Petra LARSSON, 7. Stephanie CATLEY, 10. Jessica McDONALD (23. Jessica HUMBLE ‘73), 14. Enza BARILLA, 15. Amy JOHNSON, 17. Gulcan KOCA.
Subs not used: 9. Tiffany ELIADIS, 11. Caitlin FRIEND, 18. Cindy LAY, 20. Cassandra DIMOVSKI (gk).
Red card: Maika Ruyter-Hooley 86.