Sydney FC Clinch History Breaking Premiership



Sydney FC 3 (Mierzejewski 12’, Bobô 27’, 39’) Perth Glory 2 (Taggart 72’, 88’)

Sydney FC has become the first club in history to secure back-to-back Hyundai A-League Premierships following a resounding 3-2 win away to Perth Glory.

The Sky Blues got off to a flying start after Mierzejewski netted the first of the night before Bobô helped himself to a first half brace to set a new Hyundai A-League record for most goals in a regular A-League season (24).

Arnie’s men held off a Glory onslaught as the home side came out firing in the second half with substitute Adam Taggart grabbing the last two goals of the match.

In the end, the damage was done in the first half by the defending Premiers and it ensured they retained the title; the club’s third in its history.

The win equals the record of three Hyundai A-League Premierships by one club.

It’s also the first time in 23 years any Australian football club has retained a Premiership.


What They Said

Graham Arnold: “We’ve just created history – first time in 23 years a club in this country has gone back-to-back.

“We’re not done yet, we’ve still got records to chase and that’s how we’re motivating the boys and getting momentum going into the finals.

“We’ve been the most consistent side over two seasons and with a high turnover in the squad. Losing Vukovic, Holosko, Dimitrijevic and Rhyan Grant through injury; we’ve had to do it the hard way.

“I couldn’t be prouder of the boys, they’re a fantastic group of players. It’s all about now getting better and better with each performance.”

Adrian Mierzejewski

“After signing for Sydney FC, I said I came here to win trophies.

“We’re saving our best for the semi’s and the last Asian Champions League matches. It’s good to get back to back wins.”



12’ MIERZEJEWSKI PICKS UP THE CRUMBS – Brandon O’Neill delicately chips a ball onto Bobô who watches his forceful near post effort saved, only for Adrian to follow up and thump home from close distance.

27’ A RECORD EQUALLING GOAL FOR BOBÔ – Simon is played through on goal and is adjudged to have been brought down by last man Djulbic after the officials confer on the incident. Bobô makes no mistake from the spot to level the record of most goals in a Hyundai A-League regular season.

39’ BOBÔ BREAKS THE RECORD – Mierzejewski drives a ball over the Glory defence to leave Reddy in two minds. Bobô shows his composure to take a touch and volley the ball in between the keeper’s legs and as a result setting a new Hyundai A-League record.

72’ GOAL TAGGART – Taggart breaks free of the offside trap and rounds an on-rushing Redmayne to finish into an open net.

88’ TOP CORNER TAGGART – Taggart and Keogh play a quick one-two before the substitute grabs his second with a long range effort sailing into the top corner.


Key Moments

3’ EARLY CHANCE BOBÔ – An off-balance Matt Simon manages to slip a great ball through for the Brazilian to get an early sighter on goal but his touch brings him wider than he’d like as he forces a near post save from Reddy.

25’ PINBALLING AROUND THE BOX FOR SKY BLUES – A number of chances for Bobô and Mierzejewski come in quick succession as Glory fail to clear their lines. The Sky Blues unlucky not to add to their lead.

36’ INTO THE SIDE NETTING SIMON – Matt Simon turns and holds off a Glory defender before unleashing a strong shot only to find the wrong side of the net.

38’ ANOTHER CHANCE FOR SIMON – The Glory defence is caught napping as the ball finds Simon. The striker belts a shot towards goal but it’s goes over the bar.

49’ CHANCE TAGGART – Castro wiggles free of O’Neill to play substitute Taggart on goal but the Glory striker can’t find the target with great pressure from the Sky Blues being applied.

68’ SAVE FROM REDMAYNE – Taggart lets loose from distance but Redmayne is up to the challenge diving low and hard to his right to push the ball away from danger.

Team News

Sydney FC 3 (Mierzejewski 12’, Bobô 27’, 39’) Perth Glory 2 (Taggart 72’, 88’)

Ground: NIB Stadium

Attendance: 7742

Referee: Kris Griffiths-Jones

Sydney FC: 1. Andrew REDMAYNE (gk), 4. Alex WILKINSON, 5. Jordy BUIJS, 8. Paulo RETRE, 9. BOBÔ (14. Alex BROSQUE 62’) 10. Milos NINKOVIC, 11. Adrian MIERZEJEWSKI (12. Fabio FERREIRA 76’), 13. Brandon O’NEILL, 14. Alex BROSQUE, 18. Matt SIMON, 19. Chris ZUVELA, (3. Ben WARLAND 90+2’) 26. Luke WILKSHIRE.

Subs Not Used: 20. Alex CISAK (gk), 17. David CARNEY.

Yellow Cards: 10. Milos NINKOVIC 80’

Red Cards: None.

Perth Glory: 33. Liam REDDY (gk), 4. Shane LOWRY, 7. Joel CHIANESE (22. Adam TAGGART 45’), 8. Xavier TORRES, 9. Andrew KEOGH, 16. Joseph MILLS (2. Alexander GRANT 76’), 17. Diego CASTRO, 18. Andreu GUERAO (14. Chris HAROLD 45’), 23. Scott NEVILLE, 66. Dino DJULBIC, 88. Neil KILKENNY.

Subs Not Used: 13. Nicholas FEELY (gk), 15. Brandon WILSON.

Yellow Cards: 66. Dino DJULBIC 26’, 4. Shane LOWRY 83’, 22. Adam TAGGART 85’

Red Cards: None.


We’re the Hyundai A-League Premiers but we’re #NotDoneYet…Be at Allianz Stadium for our remaining two clashes and secure your seats, say you were there and be a part of history!