Sky Blue Ball Awards Winners Crowned

Sydney FC’s Premiership winning midfielder MacKenzie Hawkesby and Alex Tobin Award joint points leader Anthony Caceres have taken out the top awards at Sydney FC’s glamorous night of nights, the Sky Blue Ball.   

Sky Blues’ midfield star Hawkesby had a stellar campaign as the Sky Blues Women romped to a record fourth Liberty A-League Premiership, while Caceres had his best season to date as a Sydney FC player notching five goals and five assists.

They claimed the top awards of the night – the Player of the Year awards – as voted for by a select panel of Sydney FC football and coaching staff after the 2021/22 season.

Hawkesby played her third and best season with the Sky Blues to date, scoring five goals and creating ten assists.

“It’s such an honour and a privilege to be accepting the Player of the Year award,” she said.

“We’ve had an unbelievable squad and set of players over the past few years, who all work together and I couldn’t have achieved this without them, so I’d like to thank them all,” she said,

“Our Head Coach Ante Juric and his staff have been fantastic and we are so proud to go back to back as Premiers.

“Also a big thank you to my friends and family and the Sydney FC Members for their support, we are looking forward to another fantastic season next year.”

Anthony Caceres poses after receiving the A-League Men’s Player of the Year Award during the Sydney FC Sky Blue Ball at The Star.

Caceres wins the top gong in his fourth season with the club and was also voted the club’s Members’ Player Of The Year.

The 29-year-old midfielder said he was extremely humbled by the two awards.

“I’m so proud to be named Player of the Year and by the Members at this great club,” he said.

“It’s been a pleasure to play with these boys and in front of these great supporters for so long.

“I’d like to thank my team-mates, Steve and the other coaches as well as my family and all of our Members.

“I’m already looking forward to the new season.”

Adam Le Fondre claimed the A-League Men’s Golden Boot, with Cortnee Vine picking up the Women’s award, as well as Liberty A-League Members’ Player Of The Year.

Sydney FC Stars Cortnee Vine & Anthony Caceres Win Members’ Player of the Year Awards during the Sydney FC Sky Blue Ball at The Star Sydney.

Patrick Yazbek and Taylor Ray were named U20 Players of the Year while Sydney FC NPL NSW star Jake Girdwood-Reich picked up the Rising Star award following his progression through the Sky Blues’ ranks.

Sydney FC General Manager, Operations Anthony Scaltrito received the Chairman’s Award from Sydney FC Chairman Scott Barlow, for his attention to detail, unwavering work ethic and desire to go above and beyond for the club

Held at the Event Centre at our Principal Partner The Star, Sydney, guests and VIPs walked the iconic Sky Blue Carpet before moving inside for formalities and an unforgettable evening.