Players Of The Year 20-21 Awards Revealed

Season Awards 2020-21 Lead Photo

Sydney FC stars Alex Wilkinson and Clare Wheeler have been crowed the Sky Blues’ A-League and W-League Players’ Of The Year.

Captain Wilkinson was the only Sydney FC and A-League outfield player to play every minute of the season, and his performances resulted in the Sky Blues having the meanest defence in the competition.

VIDEO: Sydney FC A-League 2020-21 Season Highlights

VIDEO: Sydney FC W-League 2020-21 Season Highlights

Just 23 goals were conceded in 26 games which was five fewer than the next best club.

“It’s a huge honour and a privilege to win the Player Of The Year award for last season,” said the 36-year old.

“We had a great year but fell a little bit short in terms of trophies, so I’m looking forward to having another big season this year before we move back to our new home at Moore Park.

“I’d just like to thank my team-mates, the coaching staff and the high-performance staff for keeping me on the pitch.

“I’d also like to thank all of our Members and partners for your continued support.”

WATCH: Alex Wilkinson’s A-League Player Of The Year Acceptance Speech

Clare Wheeler Scores In The Semi Final V Canberra

WATCH: Hear From Sydney FC W-League 2020-21 Player Of The Year Clare Wheeler

Midfielder Wheeler’s performances secured her a move to Danish club Fortuna Hjørring for next season, while she was also part of two Matildas’ Talent ID squads.

Her four goals from 12 games and match-winning performances helped the Sky Blues W-League squad to a record equalling fourth consecutive Grand Final.

“I’m really honoured to have received this award,” said the 23-yeard old.

“I want to take this moment to thank my team-mates, Head Coach Ante Juric, the coaching staff, the club and the Members for allowing me to have this opportunity.

“I want to wish Sydney FC all the best for next season and seasons beyond.”

WATCH: Hear From All Our Award Winners

In other club awards Cortnee Vine and Milos Ninkovic won the Members’ Players of the Year after stellar seasons in which Ninkovic also won the A-League’s Johnny Warren Medal.  Vine hit four goals in 11 games and always looked dangerous before falling foul of injury before the Finals Series.  She is expected to be back soon. 

Patrick Wood and Taylor Ray were awarded the Under 20 Players of the Year awards with Wood scoring four times after making his Sydney FC debut in the AFC Champions League in November.  Ray had a great season after a long comeback from a serious knee injury, scoring a superb long range goal against Newcastle Jets.

Australian under 17’s international attacking midfielder Adrian Segecic won the Rising Star Award and is one for the future.  He will train with Sydney FC’s A-League squad in the season ahead.

Strikers Bobô  with 12 goals in 23 games and Remy Siemsen with seven in 14 matches picked up the club’s Golden Boots.

memb thin