Match Preview: Sydney FC v Perth Glory


Sydney FC host Perth Glory at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium in a massive top of the table clash on Thursday night (kick off 7:50pm AEST).

The Sky Blues are out to cement second place on the Hyundai A-League ladder, with two point between them and Melbourne in third place. 

While the head-to-head record this season stands at one win apiece, this is a fixture the Sky Blues have dominated in recent years.

Sydney FC have won their last five Hyundai A-League games at home against Glory, outscoring them 19-1 in that time.

But Perth have improved on their travels this season, and are undefeated in their last 14 games away from home. Only once in the competition’s history has any team gone longer without a loss on the road (Brisbane Roar – 16 games in 2010/2011).

The Sky Blues plan to use Thursday night’s match against the Glory to celebrate skipper Alex Brosque’s career at the club. after he announced earlier this week that this season would be his last.

Alex Brosque Celebrates At Jubilee Stadium

Key Opta stats

  • Perth Glory picked up a 3-1 victory when these teams met earlier this year, snapping a nine-game losing streak against the Sky Blues in the Hyundai A-League.
  • The most recent of those defeats came in this season’s other meeting between the clubs, Sydney FC winning 2-1 at HBF Park in their Round 9 clash in December. 
  • Sydney FC are the only Hyundai A-League team against whom Perth Glory skipper Diego Castro is yet to score a goal.

Ins and outs

Sydney FC squad: 1.Andrew REDMAYNE (gk), 2.Aaron CALVER, 4.Alex WILKINSON, 5.Jop van der LINDEN, 6.Josh BRILLANTE, 8.Paulo RETRE, 9.Adam LE FONDRE, 10.Milos NINKOVIC, 11.Danny DE SILVA, 13.Brandon O’NEILL, 14.Alex BROSQUE, 16.Reza GHOOCHANNEJHAD, 17.Anthony CACERES, 18. Jacob TRATT, 20.Alex CISAK (gk), 21. Mitch AUSTIN, 22.Siem DE JONG, 23.Rhyan GRANT **two to be omitted**

Ins: 5.Jop van der LINDEN (promoted), 21. Mitch AUSTIN (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: 3.Ben WARLAND (ACL – indefinite), 7. Michael ZULLO (hamstring – 1 week), 12. Trent BUHAGIAR (ACL – indefinite), 19. Chris ZUVELA (ACL – indefinite)

Perth Glory squad: 1.Tando VELAPHI (gk), 2. Alex GRANT, 4.Shane LOWRY, 5.Ivan FRANJIC, 7.Joel CHIANESE, 11.Brendon SANTALAB, 13.Matthew SPIRANOVIC, 14.Chris HAROLD, 15.Brandon WILSON, 16.Tomislav MRCELA, 17.Diego CASTRO, 20.Jake BRIMMER, 21.Jacob ITALIANO, 22.Fabio FERREIRA, 23.Scott NEVILLE, 29.Kristian POPOVIC, 33.Liam REDDY (gk), 88.Neil KILKENNY **two to be omitted**

Ins: 2.Alex GRANT (promoted), 14.Chris HAROLD (promoted), 15.Brandon WILSON (promoted), 16.Tomislav MRCELA (promoted), 21.Jacob ITALIANO (promoted), 29.Kristian POPOVIC (promoted)
Outs: 3.Jason DAVIDSON  (knee injury – 1 week), 6.Dino DJULBIC (omitted), 9.Andy KEOGH (omitted), 27.JUANDE (groin injury – 1 week)
Unavailable: 19.Chris IKONOMIDIS (shoulder injury – 1 week)

Left-back Michael Zullo will miss out again for Sydney due to a hamstring injury


CLICK HERE to secure your seat at this top-of-the-table clash and celebrate Captain Alex Brosque’s Sydney FC career in the Sky Blues’ final home match of the regular season.


thin per Brosque