Ins & Outs | Sydney Derby and Canberra test

The squads have been submitted for both Sydney FC matches with the Men facing a tough trip to CommBank Stadium for the Sydney Derby, meanwhile the Women will be looking to make it three wins on the spin with a trip to Canberra.


Ahead of the highly anticipated Sydney Derby, Steve Corica has named a very competitive side which includes a returning player.

Joel King has settled in since his arrival from Europe and after being present at last week’s victory over Central Coast Mariners at Allianz Stadium, is included in the 20 man squad for the Derby.

King was part of the squad that lifted the trophy at CommBank in 2020 and will be hoping for three points this weekend.

Rhyan Grant is suspended for one match following his red card against the Mariners and will miss this one out.

A-League Men

Sydney FC squad: 1. Andrew REDMAYNE (GK), 2. James DONACHIE, 3. Joel KING, 4. Alex WILKINSON ©, 8. Paulo RETRE, 9. Adam LE FONDRE, 10. Joe LOLLEY, 11. Robert MAK, 12. Pat WOOD, 16. Patrick YAZBEK, 17. Anthony CACERES, 18. Diego CABALLO, 19. Adrian SEGECIC, 20. Thomas HEWARD-BELLE (GK), 21. Alex PARSONS, 22. Max BURGESS, 25. Jaiden KUCHARSKI, 26. Luke BRATTAN, 28. Jake GIRDWOOD-REICH, 29. Aaron GURD.

(2-4 to be omitted)

Ins: 3. Joel KING (new loan signing), 21. Alex PARSONS (promoted), 25. Jaiden KUCHARSKI (promoted).

Outs: 23. Rhyan GRANT (suspended – 1 game).

Unavailable: 6. Jack RODWELL (injured).

Match Details

Western Sydney Wanderers v Sydney FC
Isuzu UTE A-League Round 16
Saturday 11th February 2023
CommBank Stadium, Parramatta, NSW
Kick Off: 7:45pm AEDT
Broadcast Live: Paramount+ & 10Bold
Tickets: Click Here


For Ante Juric’s side they are looking to replicate the emphatic 6-3 win in their previous away fixture when they take on Canberra United.

Unfortunately, Mackenzie Hawkesby will miss this clash due to suspension after accumulating four yellow cards throughout the season so far.

Hawkesby in action against Melbourne Victory

Jada Whyman is also included in the squad following her broken finger and if selected could make her first appearance since a Christmas Eve win over the Western Sydney Wanderers.

Jada Whyman in training

Tahlia Franco also drops out after her injury replacement contract has concluded.

A-League Women

Sydney FC squad: 1. Jada WHYMAN (GK),2. Mary STANIC-FLOODY, 3. Charlotte MCLEAN, 4. Anna GREEN, 5. Kirsty FENTON, 6. Sarah HUNTER, 8. Rachel LOWE, 9. Madison HALEY, 11. Cortnee VINE, 12. Natalie TOBIN (c), 14. Abbey LEMON, 16. Deborah-Anne DE LA HARPE, 17. Jynaya DOS SANTOS, 19. Charlize RULE, 20. Princess IBINI, 21. Shay HOLLMAN, 23. Anika STAJCIC, 24. Shay EVANS, 25. Rola BADAWIYA, 30. Katie OFFER (GK).

(2-4 to be omitted)

Ins: 1. Jada WHYMAN (return from injury), 4. Anna GREEN (promoted), 14. Abbey LEMON (promoted),17. Jynaya DOS SANTOS (promoted), 23. Anika STAJCIC (promoted), 24. Shay EVANS (promoted).

Outs: 15. Mackenzie HAWKESBY (suspended – 1 game), 60. Tahlia FRANCO (GK) (End of injury replacement contract).

Unavailable: 18. Taylor RAY (injured).

Match Details

Canberra United v Sydney FC
Liberty A-League Round 14
Saturday 11th February 2023
McKellar Park, Canberra, ACT
Kick Off: 3:00pm AEDT
Broadcast Live: Paramount +, 10Play & DubZone through Facebook and YouTube