Grant & Vukovic Make Final Socceroos Squad


Sydney FC’s Rhyan Grant and Danny Vukovic have made the cut and been selected in Ange Postecoglou’s 23-man squad for their upcoming March 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers.

Postecoglou’s squad shines a bright light on the Hyundai A-League with Tim Cahill (Melbourne City), Rhyan Grant (Sydney FC), Riley McGree (Adelaide United), James Troisi (Melbourne Victory), Daniel Vukovic (Sydney FC) and Rhys Williams (Perth Glory) all named in the final list.

Grant, preparing to take part in his first ever senior national team camp, said he was delighted to have made the final squad.

“I’m very happy,” Grant said.

“I was thrilled to have made the 30 man squad let alone the 23 so I’m pretty stoked and looking forward to getting into camp with the boys.”

Vukovic was equally happy to be back in the national team set up.

“I’m over the moon to be back in the Socceroos after seven years out,” he said.

“I’m looking fowrad to getting into camp with the boys and working hard in preparation for some important games now coming up.”


The squad also includes experienced stars Mile Jedinak, Aaron Mooy, Mat Ryan, Mathew Leckie, Massimo Luongo, Robbie Kruse, Trent Sainsbury and Mark Milligan, who will line up alongside five uncapped players (Mustafa Amini, James Jeggo, Grant, McGree and Vukovic).

Aziz Behich, Mitch Langerak, Troisi and Williams return to the international arena after varying periods out of the squad as the Socceroos go into Matchday six and seven locked in a four-way battle for the two automatic spots at the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

“We’ve come up with a good strong squad that has a mix of experience, form and players who are playing regular football,” Postecoglou said.

“I was pleased with the collective game time the squad got through over the weekend and come into camp playing well.

“We face two important games in five days and it’s good to welcome back some guys who have been out of the squad for different lengths of time for various reasons and I’m confident the group we’ve selected will be ready to hit the ground running.

“There are a lot of important matches in what shapes as a crucial year for the team but the focus for us is simply Iraq on Thursday week and then the UAE in Sydney on March 28.”

The team will begin assembling in Tehran on Sunday ahead of next Thursday’s clash with Iraq. The seven players who have not made the final squad remain on standby for any last minute injuries this weekend.


Caltex Socceroos squad for 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers v Iraq and United Arab Emirates (UAE):

Mustafa AMINI – Aarhus Gymnastikforening (AGF), DENMARK – –

Aziz BEHICH – Bursaspor, TURKEY – 11 (2)

Tim CAHILL – Melbourne City FC, AUSTRALIA – 94 (48)

Milos DEGENEK – Yokohama F Marinos, JAPAN – 5 (0)

Rhyan GRANT – Sydney FC, AUSTRALIA – –

Jackson IRVINE – Burton Albion FC, ENGLAND – 7 (0)

Mile JEDINAK – Aston Villa FC, ENGLAND – 68 (15)

James JEGGO – SK Sturm Graz, AUSTRIA – –

Tomi JURIC – FC Luzern, SWITZERLAND – 20 (4)

Robbie KRUSE – Liaoning Whowin FC, CHINA – 48 (4)

Mitchell LANGERAK – VfB Stuttgart FC, GERMANY – 6 (0)

Mathew LECKIE – FC Ingolstadt 04, GERMANY – 37 (3)

Massimo LUONGO – Queens Park Rangers FC, ENGLAND – 24 (5)

Riley McGREE – Adelaide United FC, AUSTRALIA – –

Mark MILLIGAN – Baniyas FC, UAE – 53 (5)

Aaron MOOY – Huddersfield Town AFC, ENGLAND – 21 (5)

Mathew RYAN – KRC Genk, BELGIUM – 30 (0)

Trent SAINSBURY – FC Internazionale Milano, ITALY – 21 (3)

Brad SMITH – AFC Bournemouth, ENGLAND – 14 (0)

James TROISI – Melbourne Victory FC, AUSTRALIA – 26 (4)

Daniel VUKOVIC – Sydney FC, AUSTRALIA – –

Rhys WILLIAMS – Perth Glory FC, AUSTRALIA – 14 (0)

Bailey WRIGHT – Bristol City FC, ENGLAND – 12 (1)


SYDNEY FC take on Melbourne City FC on Saturday 1st April and tickets can be purchased by clicking here.