Get To Know: Manly United


Get to know more about Manly United ahead of our pre-season encounter on Thursday night at Leichhardt Oval.


Founded: 1992

Competition: National Premier League, NSW

Home ground: Cromer Park, Dee Why, NSW

Honours: National Premier League Champions 1995, 2017
National Premier League Premiers 1995
NSW Waratah Cup Winners 2011


While the operated under various guises from the 1960s, the Manly Warringah Dolphins were born for the start of the 1992 NSW Super League season. Under the tutelage of John Kosmina, the club won the double three years later.

The club then changed their name to Manly United in 2004 after winning promotion to the NSW Premier League.

One year later, in 2005, it was Manly United who were Sydney FC’s first ever opponents, taking on the newly former Sky Blues and going down 6-1. 

SFC v Manly

The club have remained in the state’s top flight since 2004, producing an incredible run through the NPL finals series two years ago to take out their second Championship, despite finishing the regular season in fifth spot.

This is the club’s third appearance in the FFA Cup, also reaching the Round of 32 in 2014 and 2016.

Manly United are the representative arm of the Manly Warringah Football Association (MWFA), which is regarded as one of the largest associations in the country with more than 18,000 registered players.

Key Players

He may be small in stature but Brendan Cholakian is arguably one of the most gifted players in the NSW NPL.

A crafty playmaker who operates in United’s no.10 role, Cholakian can not only pick a pass but also provides a goal threat, currently Manly’s top scorer with eight in 18 games in 2019.

Former Wellington Phoenix winger Adam Parkhouse is back at Cromer Park and possesses a sweet left foot, while Dejan Pandurevic provides pace and trickery on the opposite flank.


Desteny Thin Banner