Where are they now? Last time we played in Perth

The Sydney FC women will play against Perth Glory on Saturday night in Perth for the first time since the 2020/2021 season. 

The Sky Blues have faced Perth Glory three times since the 2020/2021 season, where both teams have played two games in Sydney and one match in Launceston due to the Western
Australian COVID restrictions. 

In Perth, Sydney FC have a positive record against the Glory, winning seven games, one more than their opponents. 

In the last game these teams played each other in Perth the Sky Blues won 6-2, where goals to Princess Ibini, an own goal, and two goals each to Clare Wheeler and Remy Siemsen contributed to the most goals scored in a Perth Glory vs Sydney FC match since 2014.

We look back at the starting lineup that faced Perth Glory in that match and see where they are now. 

Jada Whyman: Jada Whyman continues to play for Sydney FC two years after the last match in Perth. Since 2021, Whyman has been the Sky Blues’ first choice keeper and has won three consecutive Premierships. Jada Whyman has also been called up to the Matildas squad numerous times. 

Jada Whyman and Natalie Tobin lining up to play Perth Glory in Perth.

Charlotte McLean: Charlotte McLean has stayed with the Sky Blues since their last game against Perth. She has also been part of the Sky Blues back-to-back-to-back Premierships and last season’s Championship, a crucial starting defender for the women’s side. The hometown local has also been called up for the Young Matildas squad and aims to be part of future Australian squads. 

Ellie Brush: Ellie Brush retired from playing at Canberra United last season after moving from the Sky Blues at the start of the 2022/23 season. Brush scored two goals in the capital, including one against the Sky Blues and she has also featured in two matches for the Matildas in 2009 and 2012.

Ally Green: Ally Green left Sydney FC after the 2021/2022 season and now plays her football with Danish side Aarhus. The defender has played for the New Zealand national team four times this year, most recently playing Colombia in December. Ally Green also scored her first goal since playing with Sydney FC in November 2022. 

Nat Tobin: Nat Tobin is the current captain of Sydney FC after reaching 100 games for the Sky Blues and leading the club to the double last season and Premiership the year prior. Tobin suffered an ACL tear in the opening round this season which has seen her sidelined for up to a year. Regardless of this, Tobin has captained the Sky Blues to back-to-back championships and has won four Grand Finals with Sydney FC.

Clare Wheeler: Clare Wheeler has moved on to the Women’s Super League in England, playing for Everton since she moved from Sydney FC after the 2020/2021 season. Most recently, Wheeler has played on the Matildas side that faced Canada in Vancouver and was on the bench during Australia’s World Cup campaign earlier this year. 

Clare Wheeler vs Perth Glory in Perth.

Princess Ibini: Princess Ibini is the Sky Blues Captain after Nat Tobin’s season-ending injury promoted her to the role. Since playing as Skipper, she has led Sydney FC to two wins and scored against Adelaide United in Round 4. Ibini has won two grand finals with the Sky Blues and is a three-time Premiership winner. In 2022, the Matildas called up the Sydney FC striker for clashes against Spain and Portugal. 

Taylor Ray: Like Princess Ibini, Taylor Ray has only played for the Sky Blues since the 2017/2018 season and despite rupturing her ACL last season, has come back even stronger this time around. Ray has won three Premierships and two Championships, and playing under Ante Juric, she has become one of the core players of the club. Ray also wore the green and gold on one occasion last year against Spain.

Rachel Lowe: Rachel Lowe now plays her football for Melbourne Victory after three seasons with Sydney FC saw her win three consecutive Premierships and the Grand Final. The Victory midfielder has played for Australia and has featured with the Young Matildas
five times. Lowe has scored four goals in seven games this season, equalling her highest-scoring season with Sydney FC, which included two screamers against the Glory in Perth.

Cortnee Vine: Cortnee Vine has become one of the most recognisable Women’s footballers in Australia after she scored the winning penalty against France in the World Cup Quarter Final. Vine has made 24 appearances for Australia since playing in Perth and was part of every Matildas game during their World Cup campaign. Vine has played with Sydney FC for four seasons, and last Saturday slotted the winning goal against the Newcastle Jets. 

Courtnee Vine dribbling the ball in Perth.

Remy Siemsen: Remy Siemsen has moved to Leicester City since last playing in Perth. She played in 12 matches for the Foxes and has also played for the Matildas nine times, most recently against Canada. 

The starting squad on Saturday will of course be slightly different to the team and we look forward to seeing who will come out on top in this top of the table clash.

Match Details:
Sydney FC v Perth Glory
Liberty A-League Round Eight
Sunday December 17 2023
Macedonia Park, Perth, WA
Kick Off: 10pm AEDT
Gates Open: 6pm AWST
Broadcast Live: Paramount+ & 10PLAY
Tickets: Click Here