Westfield W-League Grand Final Preview: Melbourne City v Sydney FC


It is City Blue versus Sky Blue and the season’s biggest prize is on the line in the Westfield W-League 2020 Grand Final.

The competition’s two most successful clubs will face off at AAMI Park on Saturday, kicking off at 3.30pm AEDT, with each side in the search of a history-making fourth Championship title.

After storming into the decider with a 5-1 demolition of Western Sydney Wanderers in their Semi-Final, Rado Vidosic’s City side are looking to complete an entire Westfield W-League season undefeated for only the second time in competition history – equaling the returns of their all-conquering 2015/16 campaign.

But their opponents, and defending Champions, Sydney FC have proved they will be a tough nut to crack after booking their passage to the Grand Final with a resolute 1-0 win over Melbourne Victory in their Semi-Final.

Head Coach Ante Juric’s side also know what is required to prevail on the competition’s biggest stage following their epic 4-2 win in last season’s showpiece against Perth Glory.

This year’s Grand Finalists met just once during the Westfield W-League season with City edging out the Sky Blues 2-1 at Cromer Park in December, as the Premiers only prevailed through a late second-half strike from Milica Mijatovic.

Football Federation Australia have confirmed the Westfield W-League Grand Final will be played behind closed doors in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, with no fans permitted to attend.

The match will be broadcast on Fox Sports 505 and ABC TV from 3pm, with kick-off at 3.30pm AEDT.

Match Details

Melbourne City v Sydney FC

Date: Saturday 21 March 2020
Fixture: Melbourne City FC vs Sydney FC
Venue:  AAMI Park, Melbourne
Kick-off Time:  3:30pm (AEDT)
TV Broadcast: FOX SPORTS 505 from 3:00pm (AEDT), ABC TV from 3:00pm (AEDT)
Stream: Kayo Sports and the My Football Live App

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @SydneyFC on Twitter and join the conversation using #SydneyIsSkyBlue #WLeagueGF

Grand Final image


Team news

Sydney FC squad: 1.Aubrey BLEDSOE (gk), 2.Teresa POLIAS (c), 3. Shay EVANS, 5.Ally GREEN, 7.Ellie BRUSH, 8.Lindsay AGNEW, 10.Remy SIEMSEN, 11.Sofia HUERTA, 12.Natalie TOBIN, 13.Veronica LATSKO, 14.Alanna KENNEDY, 15.MacKenzie HAWKESBY, 16.Julia VIGNES, 17.Angelique HRISTODOULOU, 18.Taylor RAY, 19.Amy SAYER, 20.Princess IBINI, 30.Trudy BURKE (gk)

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 3.Shay EVANS (promoted), 16.Julia VIGNES (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 4.Elizabeth RALSTON (hamstring)



wwl thin