Three Sky Blues In PFA Team Of The Decade


Sydney FC legends Steve Corica and Alessandro Del Piero have joined current Sky Blue Shane Smeltz in being named in the PFA Team of the Decade on Monday.

Announced at a Gala event at the Australian National Maritime Museum, the team was unveiled in front of a host of current and former A-League stars.

Selected by the PFA’s A-League members past and present, players were asked to vote for their starting 11 in a 4-3-3 formation, five substitutes, a coach and referee of the decade.

“The A-League has been a massive part of my life, I’m so honoured to be named in The PFA Team of the Decade,” said Shane Smeltz.

With players having to have played at least two seasons in the A-League to be eligible for selection, the team was voted on by over 400 former and current A-League players and contains three Johnny Warren Medal winners.

As voted by the players, the PFA A-League Team of the Decade is:

Goalkeeper: Eugene Galekovic

Defenders: Cassio, Kevin Muscat (C), Patrick Zwaanswijk, Ivan Franjic

Midfielders: Matt McKay, Carlos Hernandez, Thomas Broich

Forwards: Archie Thompson, Besart Berisha, Shane Smeltz

Substitutes: Michael Theo (GK), Adama Traore, Mark Milligan, Steve Corica, Alessandro Del Piero

Coach: Ange Postecoglou

Referee: Strebre Delovski


Sydney FC take on English Premier League giants Tottenham Hotspur in a football classic at ANZ Stadium on Saturday 30 May. Purchase your tickets today for this not to be missed football event!