Sydney Move Seven Points Clear After 4-0 Win

Sydney FC 4 (Hawkesby 11’, Vine 17’, Siemsen 24’, Rule 48’) def Perth Glory 0

Sydney FC have moved seven points clear at the top of Liberty A-League thanks to a 4-0 win over Perth Glory which has in turn shot the Sky Blues to the top of the Club Championship for the first time.

Moments That Mattered: 

HAWKESBY GOAL – 11’ – Vine clips the ball into Siemsen who does well to turn and shoot. Newbon parries and Hawkesby is the quickest to react and tap the ball home to open the scoring.

VINE GOAL – 17’ – Hawkesby plays a delightful ball into the path of Vine who controls with one touch, sprints beyond her defender and drills a low right foot shot into the far corner.

SIEMSEN GOAL – 24’ – Hunter feeds Vine down the line who does well to keep the ball in play. She beats her defender and crosses to Siemsen who finishes first time.

RULE GOAL – 48’ – Hawkesby’s corner is floated into the box and Rule smashes home an attacking header.

GREEN HITS BAR – 55’ – Ally Green tries an audacious shot from wide left which beats the keeper but just bounces off the top of the crossbar.

HAWKESBY PENALTY SAVED – 79’ – Rojas beats two players and shoots but an arm of a Glory defender prevents a goal resulting in a penalty. Hawkesby steps up and puts it to the keeper’s left but Newbon is equal to it.

Sydney FC have increased their lead at the top of the Liberty A-League to seven points after a 4-0 win over Perth Glory at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium.

Goals from Mackenzie Hawkesby and departing Matildas duo Remy Siemsen and Cortnee Vine had the Sky Blues 3-0 up at the break. 

Charlie Rule increased Sydney FC’s lead to four early in the second half with a bullet header in a convincing performance which was completed without injured skipper Nat Tobin.

The win moves Sydney FC to the top of the A-Leagues Club Championship for the very first time ahead of Melbourne Victory’s Men’s match tonight. 

Sydney FC: 1. Jada WHYMAN, 3. Charlotte MCLEAN, 4. Jessika NASH, 5. Ally GREEN (17. Ange HRISTODOULOU 81’), 6. Sarah HUNTER, 8. Rachel LOWE (2. Mary STANIC FLOODY 83’), 10 Remy SIEMSEN (9. Maria JOSE ROJAS 60’), 11. Cortnee VINE (14. Paige SATCHELL 60’), 15. Mackenzie HAWKESBY, 19. Charlie RULE, 20. Princess IBINI.

Unused Subs: 20. Katie OFFER (GK).

Yellow Cards:  None.

Red Cards: None.

Perth Glory FC: 20. Courtney NEWBON (GK), 2. Sarah CARROLL (5. Deborah-Anne DE LA HARPE 59’) 3. Kim CARROLL, 4. Natasha RIGBY (Captain), 7, Elizabeth ANTON, 10, Susan PHONSONGKHAM, 12. Sofia SAKALIS (18. Sadie LAWRENCE 59’), 13. Sarah CAIN, 19. Poppie HOOKS (11. Lisa DE VANNA 46’) 24. Gemma CRAINE, 24. Mie LETH KARSHOJ (23. Alana JANCEVSKI 69’)

Subs: 1. Morgan AQUINO (GK).

Yellow Cards: Leth Karshoj 60’, .

Red Cards: None.

Venue: Netstrata Jubilee Stadium.

Referee: Casey Reibelti