Sydney FC women crush Perth 5-1

Sydney FC has recorded an emphatic 5-1 victory over Perth Glory in the Westfield W-League at Perth’s Clipsal Stadium on Sunday night.

Sydney FC has recorded an emphatic 5-1 victory over Perth Glory in the Westfield W-League at Perth’s Clipsal Stadium on Sunday night.

The big win for Sydney keeps them without touch of leaders Brisbane Roar and it was on the back of a hat-trick from Kyah Simon and a double to Leena Khamis.

Sydney got the perfect start and by the eight-minute mark already had a 2-0 lead thanks to Khamis.

The first goal came in the third minute when Khamis was able to get on the end of a strong corner from captain Heather Garriock to put it past Glory ‘keeper Tine Cederkvist.

Five minutes later the visitors made the most of a counterattack after the Glory had three strong chances to score. They couldn-t quite capitalise, though, and in response Sydney went down the other end and Khamis curled one that dipped late and was too good for Cederkvist.

Sydney could have easily made it 3-0 as well in the 28th minute but Garriock’s attempt from inside the box just went over the crossbar.

The Glory worked hard to get back into the contest and had their chances, the best being a free kick from Collette McCallum that hit the side post. Katie Gill had another chance in the 37th minute but it was brilliantly saved by Dimi Poulos.

It didn-t take long in the second half for Sydney to add a third goal and that is where Simon began her three-goal scoring spree. The first came in the 47th minute when she got on the end of a cross deep in the box and coolly slotted it home.

The Glory did get one goal back through a long range strike that sailed over the outstretched hand of Poulos from McCallum, but Sydney and Simon weren-t finished quite yet.

Simon’s fourth goal came in the 74th minute and then she added a fifth in injury time with a wonderful strike that just curled inside the near post of Glory ‘keeper Cederkvist.

Sydney now remains in second position and has the bye next week before hosting Canberra on January 22 while the Glory takes on Adelaide United at Hindmarsh Stadium on Saturday.

Perth Glory 1 (Collette McCALLUM 69-)
Sydney FC 5 (Leena KHAMIS 3-/8-, Kyah SIMON 48-/74-/90-+1)
Sunday, 9 January 2010
6PR Stadium, Perth
Local kick-off: 5.00pm
Referee: Kate Jacewicz
Assistant referees: Tim Mihevc Matthew Souther
Fourth official: Stuart Muldoon

Perth Glory: 1. Tine CEDERKVIST (gk), 3. Carys HAWKINS (2. Stacey LEARMONT 83-), 4. Samantha KERR, 5. Shannon MAY, 6. Alexandra SINGER, 7. Alexandra NILSSON, 8. Tanya OXTOBY (c), 12. Kate GILL, 13. Elisa D-OVIDIO (17. Marianna TABAIN 46-), 14. Collette McCALLUM, 15. Jaymee GIBBONS (9. Monnique KOFOED 60-)

Substitutes not used: 20. Kathleen WAYCOTT (gk)
Yellow cards: Kate GILL 79-
Red cards: Nil

Sydney FC W-League: 1. Dimi POULOS, 2. Teresa POLIAS, 4.Alesha CLIFFORD (13. Catherine CANNULI 60-), 6. Servet UZUNLAR, 7. Heather GARRIOCK (c) (14. Nicola BOLGER 79-), 8.Renee ROLLASON, 9. Caitlin FOORD, 11. Lydia VANDENBERGH,15. Teigen ALLEN (16.Linda O-NEILL 87-), 17. Kyah SIMON, 19. Leena KHAMIS

Substitutes not used: 20. Erin HERD
Yellow cards: Servet UZUNLAR 36-, Leena KHAMIS 59-
Red cards: Nil