Sydney FC v Wellington Facts & Figures

The match between Sydney FC and Wellington Phoenix on Saturday night will decide who will play in the Hyundai A-League Grand-Final.

Saturday, 13 March 2010
Sydney FC v Wellington Phoenix
Sydney Football Stadium, Sydney
Local kick-off: 8.00pm
Peter Green

Live and exclusive broadcast on FOX Sports 3/3 HD and Sky Sport 2. Hyundai A-League club broadcast partner is ABC Radio (Sydney) and The Radio Network 1035 AM ( Wellington ). To purchase tickets visit Ticketek

Sydney FC squad: 1. Clint BOLTON (gk), 2. Sebastian RYALL 3. Stephan KELLER, 4.Simon COLOSIMO, 5. Hayden FOXE, 6. Karol KISEL, 7. Brendan GAN, 8. Stuart MUSIALIK, 9. John ALOISI (c), 12. Shannon COLE, 13. Antony GOLEC,14. Alex BROSQUE, 15. Terry MCFLYNN, 16. Chris PAYNE,19. Mark BRIDGE, 20. Ivan NECEVSKI, 22. Sung-Hwan BYUN
*one to be omitted*

In: Shannon COLE (returns from injury), Antony GOLEC (promoted)

Out: Nil

Unavailable: Kofi DANNING (knee – season), Matthew JURMAN (foot – season), Steve Corica (hamstring – season), Rhyan GRANT (ankle – season), Adam CASEY (hamstring – indefinite)

Wellington Phoenix squad: 2. Manny MUSCAT, 3. Tony LOCHHEAD, 5. DIEGO, 6. Tim BROWN, 7. Leo BERTOS, 8. Paul IFILL, 9. Chris GREENACRE, 10. Michael FERRANTE, 11. DANIEL, 13. Troy HEARFIELD, 14. Adrian CACERES, 15. Eugene DADI, 17. Vince LIA, 18. Ben SIGMUND, 20. Reece CROWTHER (gk), 22. Andrew DURANTE (c), 23.Costa BARBAROUSES, 40. Liam REDDY (gk)
*two to be omitted*

In: Jon McKAIN (returns from suspension), Michael FERRANTE (promoted)

Out: Nil

Unavailable: Mark PASTON (gk) (leg – season)

Sydney FC v Wellington Phoenix – Preliminary Final

Finals experience closer than you may think: Despite 2010 being Sydney-s fourth Hyundai A-League finals series campaign, and Wellington-s first, the finals experience of both squads are quite similar. The combined number of Hyundai A-League finals appearances for this weekend-s Sydney FC squad stands at 64, only marginally ahead of the number of combined final appearances for the Phoenix squad (57). While Sydney FC have the likes of experienced finals campaigners Clint Bolton (9 finals appearances), Stuart Musialik (9), Mark Bridge (8) and Terry McFlynn (8), Wellington also have plenty of experienced players such as Liam Reddy (9 finals appearances), Andrew Durante (8) and Troy Hearfield (7).

Close preliminary finals: All four previous Hyundai A-League Preliminary Finals have been close affairs, with each match ending with a one goal or less margin. The trend of close Preliminary Finals was also apparent in the old NSL – with 8 out of the past 10 national league Preliminary Finals (Hyundai A-League and NSL) ending in margins of one or less goals.

One Million for SFS: After last weekend-s Major Semi Final, an aggregate audience of 987,469 people had attended 61 Hyundai A-League matches played at Sydney Football Stadium to date, meaning just 12,531 more people need to attend at the venue to break the one million milestone. Only one venue has attracted one million to Hyundai A-League matches so far, that being Etihad Stadium, where 1,286,147 people have attended 48 Hyundai A-League matches to date.

Head to Head Record

Overall Head-To-Head Record
Played 9; Sydney FC 5, Wellington Phoenix FC 3, Drawn 1

Head-To-Head at this venue
Played 5; Sydney FC 3, Wellington Phoenix FC 2, Drawn 0

Record Crowd These 2 Clubs: 14,288
At Westpac Stadium, 04 Jan 2008, Sydney FC won 2-0

Last 5 Matches Head-to-Head
Won By Score Venue Crowd Date

Sydney FC 1-0 FMG Stadium 6936 12 Dec 2009
Sydney FC 3-1 Sydney Football Stadium 10,653 01 Nov 2009
Sydney FC 2-0 Sydney Football Stadium 11,718 30 Aug 2009
Sydney FC 1-0 Sydney Football Stadium 9605 11 Jan 2009
Wellington Phoenix FC 2-1 Sydney Football Stadium 12,856 07 Nov 2008

Biggest Head-To-Head Wins
Sydney FC 2-0 Westpac Stadium 04 Jan 2008
Wellington Phoenix FC 2-1 Sydney Football Stadium 14 Sep 2007

Total Goals Head-To-Head
Sydney FC 13, Wellington Phoenix FC 8

Total Cards Head-To-Head (Yellow-Red)
Sydney FC (15-2), Wellington Phoenix FC (20-3)

Top Goal Scorers Head to Head:
Smeltz, S (Wellington Phoenix FC) 2
Brosque, A (Sydney FC) 2

Most Yellow Cards Head to Head:
Muscat, M (Wellington Phoenix FC) 2
Brosque, A (Sydney FC) 2

Most Red Cards Head to Head:
Hearfield, T (Wellington Phoenix FC) 1
Colosimo, S (Sydney FC) 1