Sydney FC Sign NWSL Championship Winning Defender


Sydney FC have signed United States and Portland Thorns star Emily Sonnett for the Westfield W-League 2017/18 season.

A defender by trade, Sonnett was the first overall draft pick for the 2016 National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) and has made 24 appearances for Portland Thorns since her debut, recently claiming the 2017 NWSL Championship in her second season at the club.

EXCLUSIVE: Sonnett’s first interview as a Sky Blue

Sonnett is a fully capped United States of America international and has also represented the U18’s and U23’s sides during her collegiate career.

The 23 year old Georgia born defender said she was excited for her first season in Australia.

“I’m really looking forward to representing Sydney FC and playing in the W-League for the first time,” she said.

“A couple of my team mates are Aussie and have told me wonderful things about the league, I know Sydney FC are one of the biggest clubs in the competition and I’m excited to be Sky Blue and uphold their proud W-League history.”

Sonnett is excited to be representing Sydney FC. Photo by Amos Hong

Westfield W-League Head Coach Ante Juric said the Sonnett would be an integral cog in the Sky Blues’ defence in 2017/18.

“Emily is a very good player who already boasts a wealth of experience,” he said.

“I’m expecting Emily to be a key member of our squad and be able to showcase all her talents this season”.

“I’m looking forward to welcoming Emily into the squad and I’m eager for the season to start now.”

The Sky Blues have also signed talented young duo Taylor Ray and Julia Vignes on scholarship contracts to further bolster the squad ahead of the new season.

Sydney FC kick off their Westfield W-League season at Allianz Stadium against Brisbane Roar on Friday 27 October (kick off 5:20pm) in a Hyundai A-League Westfield W-League double header.

Sydney FC’s Westfield W-League 2017/18 Squad:

Sham Khamis

Rachael Soutar

Teigen Allen

Caitlin Cooper

Elizabeth Ralston

Teresa Polias

Remy Siemsen

Georgia Yeoman-Dale

Leena Khamis

Princess Ibini

Amy Harrison

Angelique Hristodoulou

Lisa De Vanna

Kylie Ledbrook

Chloe Logarzo

Emma Rolston

Julia Vignes

Taylor Ray

Ally Green

Emily Sonnett


2017/18 Westfield W-League Sydney FC Memberships available NOW. Become a Sky Blue Member today – CLICK HERE