Sydney FC Set New Membership Record


Sydney FC have set a new Membership record for the sixth time in seven seasons, with the Sky Blues’ eclipsing the 15,000 mark for the second successive year to stand at 15,700 Members.

The record sees Sydney FC’s Memberships across the Hyundai A-League, Westfield W-League and AFC Champions League exceed the 15,685 for the 2017/18 season, and is made more impressive with the club’s displacement from Allianz Stadium.

The figure has seen Westfield W-League Memberships grow 15%, while overall numbers are 10% above what was forecast.

With the Hyundai A-League squad moving to new venues at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium, the Sydney Cricket Ground, Leichhardt and Brookvale Ovals; the club has welcomed a number of new Members, with 62% of Jubilee and Leichhardt Only Members being first timers.

Sydney FC Chief Executive Officer Danny Townsend thanked every single Member for their support in season 2018/19.

“It’s thoroughly pleasing to see the Sky Blue Family continue to grow at the rate it is,” Townsend said.

“Our Members are the lifeblood of the club, the players play for them each and every week, and to have the level of support that we have is fantastic.

“A lot of hard work has gone into our Member and fan engagement this season, both at our games and through our digital networks, and I’m delighted that our Members have taken our #ComeWithUs message to heart.

“We’ve thoroughly enjoyed playing our games in our community so far and this weekend’s games at Leichhardt Oval and Netstrata Jubilee Stadium should be real blockbusters.”

Sydney FC Captain Alex Brosque hailed the club’s new record.

“Our Members have shown time and again that they’re the best in the country,” Brosque said.

“It’s a pleasure to represent our fantastic Members from all regions of Sydney and to be able to bring our games to them across four venues.

“To all our Members, your support doesn’t go unnoticed, the players appreciate all your efforts and we look forward to celebrating more success with you.”

Sydney FC contest the 2019 Westfield W-League Grand Final on Saturday 16 February and return to Hyundai A-League action on Sunday 17 February at Leichhardt Oval (kick off 5pm AEDT).