Sydney FC Reveals Squad Numbers For Isuzu-UTE A-League 2023-24 Season

Sydney FC has revealed the club’s squad numbers for the Isuzu-UTE A-League Men’s 2023-24 season with several players opting for a change from last year.

Young players Aaron Gurd, Adrian Segecic and Jake Girdwood-Reich have all moved into first eleven numbers with centre half Gurd taking the number three jersey, forward Segecic moving into number seven and Girdwood-Reich handed the number eight.

Jake Girdwood-Reich will wear the number 8 shirt for Sydney FC this season

All three chose the numbers to relate to their on-field positions and Head Coach Steve Corica said change reflects their growing influence and expectation.

“All three players got good minutes in the A-League last season and this year we expect them to step up further,” he said.

It is a similar situation for 19-year-old Corey Hollman who switches from 24 to number 12 after an injury ravaged season last year and is now hoping to force his way into the squad.

Midfielder Corey Hollman moves into number 12.

He moves into the number vacated by striker Pat Wood who changes to number 13 as it is his father’s ‘lucky number.’

Joel King requested to move back to 16, the number he began his Sydney FC career wearing. It was left open after Patrick Yazbek was transferred last season.

Head Coach Steve Corica notes there are slots still available for the players we will bring in.

Goalkeeper Adam Pavlesic moves into the number 20 jersey left by Tom Heward-Belle while Gus Hoefsloot takes his old number of 30.

Academy graduates Matthew Scarcella, Mitch Glasson and Zac De Jesus take 18, 19 and 21 respectively, while recent signing Nathan Amanatidis moves into 28.

Matthew Scarcella is the club’s new number 18.

“We still have a few numbers available in specific positions, and those will be saved for the players we will bring in.”

All other players chose to remain with their same numbers. Numbers 14 and 15 have traditionally been worn by club Hall of Famers Alex Brosque and Terry McFlynn and remain vacant.

Squad Numbers

1 – Andrew Redmayne (GK)

3 – Aaron Gurd

6 – Jack Rodwell

7 – Adrian Segecic

8 – Jake Girdwood-Reich

10 – Joe Lolley

11 – Robert Mak

12 – Corey Hollman

13 – Patrick Wood

16 – Joel King

17 – Anthony Caceres

18 – Matthew Scarcella

19 – Mitch Glasson

20 – Adam Pavlesic (GK)

21 – Zac De Jesus

22 – Max Burgess

23 – Rhyan Grant

25 – Jaiden Kucharski

26 – Luke Brattan

28 – Nathan Amanatidis

30 – Gus Hoefsloot (GK)