Sydney FC Nominated For AIS Award


Sydney FC’s incredible Hyundai A-League 2016/17 season has been recognised with Graham Arnold’s side nominated for ‘Public Choice Team of the Year’ at the annual AIS Sport Performance Awards.

The Sky Blues swept all before them last season, claiming the Premiership and Championship double.

Arnold’s side lost just one game all season to finish 17 points clear at the top of the ladder.

The AIS and ABC Grandstand have launched where the public can vote for the ABC Sports Personality of the Year and the Public Choice Team of the Year.

The Sky Blues are in the running for the Team award alongside the Westfield Matildas, while superstar striker Sam Kerr is in contention for Sports Personality of the Year.

Sydney FC

Voting is open now and closes 5pm AEDST, Sunday, December 10.

The ABC Sports Personality of the Year and Public Choice Team of the Year will be among the awards announced at a gala ceremony at The Star, Sydney, on December 12.

The AIS Sport Performance Awards celebrate the nation’s sporting achievements, with awards for: male and female athlete of the year; Para-performance; emerging athlete; international team; coach; and leadership.

Newly appointed AIS Director Peter Conde said the public voting categories allowed fans to be part of the celebration.

“The ABC Personality of the Year is about fans deciding which athletes and sporting performances have resonated most with them in 2017,” Conde said.

“There are 18 athletes and 10 teams from 16 different sports to choose from so I urge fans to get behind their favourites.”

Click here to vote

ABC Sports Personality of the Year nominees

Caroline Buchanan (BMX); Britt Cox (Mogul Skiing); Sally Fitzgibbons (Surfing); Israel Folau (Rugby Union); Jessica Fox (Canoeing); Isis Holt (Athletics); Jeff Horn (Boxing); Sam Kerr (Football); Dustin Martin (Australian Football); Michael Matthews (Cycling); Curtis McGrath (Canoeing); Sally Pearson (Athletics); Erin Phillips (Australian Football); Daniel Ricciardo (Motorsport); Emily Seebohm (Swimming); Ben Simmons (Basketball); Cameron Smith (Rugby League); David Warner (Cricket).

Public Choice Team of the Year nominees

 Adelaide Crows women (Australian Football); Sydney FC (Football); Australian Diamonds (Netball); Melbourne Storm (Rugby League); Perth Scorchers (Cricket); The Matildas (Football); Richmond Tigers (Australian Football); Australian Men’s Pursuit (Track Cycling); Perth Wildcats (Basketball); Queensland Maroons (Rugby League).


2017/18 Sydney FC Memberships available NOW. Full Season Memberships available from $270 for Adults and $630 for families, or if you can’t commit to all games non-ticketed Memberships from $75! Become a Sky Blue Member today – CLICK HERE