Sydney FC Goes Down 3-1 In Brisbane


Sydney FC bowed out of the 2012/13 Hyundai A-League after two defensive blunders gifted Brisbane Roar the upper hand in a 3-1 loss at Suncorp Stadium on Thursday night.

Sydney FC bowed out of the 2012/13 Hyundai A-League after two defensive blunders gifted Brisbane Roar the upper hand in a 3-1 loss at Suncorp Stadium on Thursday night.

Sky Blues fans tuned in to Fox Sports over the weekend only to have its semi final hopes dashed late on Saturday evening when Perth Glory secure the 6th and final place in the semi finals with a 1-1 draw at home to Adelaide United.

Sydney FC coach Frank Farina welcomed back captain Terry McFlynn from injury last Thursday night in a straight swap for the suspended Brett Emerton while Adam Griffiths started the match in place of the injured Lucas Neill after he replaced the Socceroo captain at half time of last week-s 1-1 draw with Western Sydney.

The Sky Blues started by allowing Brisbane to enjoy harmless possession in its own half with the Roar restricted to a long range effort from Luke Bratten and a 30m free kick from Thomas Broich.

After taking the sting out of the game Sydney FC started to play and Ali Abbas came close with a shot from the edge of the penalty area, which came on the back of three consecutive corners around the 10th minute mark.

The game then settled into a pattern where both sides seemed tentative and were playing within themselves until the Roar took the lead in the 30th minute off the back of a Sydney FC mistake. While playing the ball out from the back, the Sky Blues turned over cheap possession and Broich simply played the ball across the penalty area to an unmarked Besart Berisha, who side-footed the opening goal.

Two minutes later the Sky Blues had a good chance when a deflected Abbas cross found Joel Griffiths but his far post effort was well blocked by Michael Theo.

The teams went to the break with Brisbane holding a 1-0 lead but Sydney FC almost levelled the scores within a minute of the resumption when Joel Griffiths forced another save from Theo, this time low to his left.

Despite the positive start to the second half, Sydney FC went two goals behind when another turnover coming out from the back gifted Brisbane its second goal in the 52nd minute.

Farina moved swiftly to peg back the two goals, bringing Yairo Yau and Joel Chianese into the game with a 55th minute double substitution, with Peter Triantis and Abbas sacrificed.

The changes afforded Sydney FC more space going forward, but they were susceptible at the back, and the Sky Blues had two golden opportunities through a Sebastian Ryall header (69th minute) and then a desperate Brisbane Roar goal line clearance (72nd minute) before the game was put beyond doubt by a brilliant Franjic strike in the 79th minute.

Sydney FC received a glimmer of hope in the 84th minute when Alessandro Del Piero converted a penalty after Joel Griffiths was fouled inside the penalty area to pull a goal back but there was to be no late heroics.

Brisbane Roar 3 (Besart Berisha 30, Steven Lustica 52, Ivan Franjic 79) d Sydney FC 1 (Alessandro Del Piero 84pen)
Suncorp Stadium
Crowd: 19,010
Referee: Peter Green

Sydney FC: 1. Ivan NECEVSKI, 2. Sebastian RYALL, 8. Adam GRIFFITHS, 10. Alessandro DEL PIERO, 13. Tiago CALVANO, 15. Terry McFLYNN (3. FABIO ‘62), 17. Terry ANTONIS, 22. Ali ABBAS (16. Joel CHIANESE ‘55), 23. Rhyan GRANT, 26. Peter TRIANTIS (21. Yairo YAU ‘55), 29. Joel GRIFFITHS.
Sub not used: 20. Vedran JANJETOVIC.
Yellow Cards: Triantis 32, Grant 54, A Griffiths 71, Tiago 79.

Brisbane Roar: 1. Michael THEO, 3. Shane STEFANUTTO, 5. Ivan FRANJIC, 7. Besart BERISHA, 13. Jade NORTH, 14. Steven LUSTICA (8. Massimo MURDOCCA ‘76), 15. James DONACHIE, 17. Mitchell NICHOLS, 18. Luke BRATTAN, 19. Jack HINGERT (11. Ben HALLORAN ‘82), 22. Thomas BROICH.
Subs not used: 20. Matthew ACTON, 9. Stefan NIJLAND.
Yellow Cards: Theo 85)

Sydney FC’s adidas School Holiday Clinics are now open for registrations, including our new girls only clinic! The courses run from April 22nd to 24th and start from $180 including GST. Register today as places are limited – click here for more information.