Sydney FC Gain Valuable Point In Hot Conditions


Sydney FC gained a valuable point in Western Australia with a 0-0 draw against Perth Glory in conditions which reached 36 degrees celsius.

Sydney FC 0 drew with Perth Glory 0

The Sky Blues secured their fourth clean sheet in seven games despite the absence of Jacques Faty who missed out due to personal reasons.

Matt Simon came closest to winning the game for Sydney FC but put his header narrowly past Ante Covic’s post.

What They Said

Graham Arnold: “I think you have to congratulate both teams for putting that type of effort in.  In 36/37 degrees you play the first 45 minutes in the sun and it takes the tempo out of the game. I’ve got to congratulate my team for the effort they gave.

“Tactics go out of the door in conditions like this and you’ve just got to hope that mentally they stay strong and don’t make mistakes.  Defensively we were quite good tonight and let’s just look forward to the next game.”

Key Moments

27’ HOLOSKO HEADER – Gersbach crosses to Holosko who heads towards goal but the keeper Covic saves to keep it at 0-0.

37′ JURMAN CRUCIAL TACKLE – Ball from the left falls at the feet of Sydnei for Perth Glory but Matt Jurman makes a crucial tackle and Ryall clears the danger.

56′ HAROLD CHANCE – Harold latches onto a pass from Garcia but blasts into the side netting.

67′ SIMON HEADER – Great play from Alex Gersbach to get a cross from the left wing into Matt Simon who rises and puts a header just wide.

74′ HAROLD CHANCE – Chris Harold gets beyond Matt Jurman as the centre half tries to chest the ball back to Janjetovic but he puts his shot high and wide.


Team News

Sydney FC 0 drew with Perth Glory 0

Sydney FC Head Coach Graham Arnold replaced Jacques Faty with Seb Ryall in the centre of defence following the Frenchman’s return to Europe for personal reasons.  Zac Anderson makes his first appearance on the bench as a result with George Blackwood being replaced by Andrew Hoole on the bench.

Attendance: 6,976

Ground: nib Stadium  

Referee: Jared Gillett


Sydney FC:  1. Vedran JANJETOVIC, 2. Seb RYALL, 3. Alex GERSBACH, 5. Matt JURMAN, 8. Milos DIMITRIJEVIC (13. Brandon O’NEILL 80’), 9. Shane SMELTZ (18. Matt SIMON 60’), 10. Milos NINKOVIC, 14. Alex BROSQUE, 21. Filip HOLOSKO (7. Andrew HOOLE 71’), 23. Rhyan GRANT, 27. Mickael TAVARES.

Subs not used: 20. Ivan NECEVSKI, 4. Zac ANDERSON.

Yellow cards: None.

Red cards: None.


Perth Glory: 1.Ante COVIC (gk), 2.Alex GRANT, 3.Marc WARREN (15.Hagi GLIGOR 85’), 10.Nebojsa MARINKOVIC, 11.Richard GARCIA (c), 13.Diogo FERREIRA, 16.Sidnei SCIOLA (14. Chris HAROLD 45’), 17.Diego CASTRO, 19.Josh RISDON (18.Mitch OXBORROW 54’), 23.Michael THWAITE, 29.Aryn WILLIAMS.

Subs not used: 12.Jerrad TYSON (gk), 24.Jamal REINERS.

Yellow cards: Thwaite 40’, Warren 45’, Oxborrow 86’

Red cards: None.

Sydney FC Memberships are still on sale for the 2015/16 season.   Click HERE    to become part of the Sky Blues family !