Sydney FC Dominate Matildas Squad


Sydney FC’s Championship-winning W-League squad has been rewarded for its stellar season with 10 Sky Blues players named in the Westfield Matilda’s squad announced today.

Sydney FC-s Championship-winning W-League squad has been rewarded for its stellar season with 10 Sky Blues players named in the Westfield Matilda-s squad announced today.

Danielle Brogan, Caitlin Foord, Alanna Kennedy, Samantha Kerr, Sham Khamis, Leena Khamis, Ellyse Perry, Teresa Polias, Renee Rollason and Kyah Simon have all been selected by newly-appointed Westfield Matildas Head Coach Hesterine de Reus.

The Matildas will take part in a 4-day training camp at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra, which will commence later this week (21-24 February 2013).

Having arrived in Australia in early January, de Reus watched all matches of the Westfield W-League 2013 Final Series and has been meeting with various stakeholders to plan the Westfield Matildas upcoming program.

de Reus is looking forward to the first opportunity to work with the Westfield Matildas on the training field since the start of her tenure as Head Coach.

“It is good to have the bulk of players available and in the country to come into our first camp together“, said de Reus

“The purpose of this training camp is to meet with the players, set-up the highlights of how we are going to work together and also discuss our short-term and long-term aims.

“Most importantly we can start on the field and work on our playing style,” concluded de Reus.

Of the 31 players named, nine (9) have been included on reduced training loads due to a variety of reasons with Heather Garriock in particular joining the Westfield Matildas squad for the first time since appearing at the Olympic Games qualifiers in September 2011 and giving birth to her first child last year. Dual-international Ellyse Perry will also join the Westfield Matildas squad after her outstanding performance last weekend as part of the World Cup winning Southern Stars Australian Women-s Cricket team.

The full squad is: Teigen ALLEN, Laura ALLEWAY, Mackenzie ARNOLD, Danielle BROGAN, Ashley BROWN, Ellie BRUSH, Kim CARROLL, Stephanie CATLEY, Amy CHAPMAN, Brianna DAVEY, Lisa DE VANNA, Caitlin FOORD, Heather GARRIOCK, Emily GIELNIK, Kathryn GILL, Katrina GORRY, Michelle HEYMAN, Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, Alanna KENNEDY, Samantha KERR, Sham KHAMIS, Leena KHAMIS, Aivi LUIK, Collette McCALLUM, Ellyse PERRY, Teresa POLIAS, Clare POLKINGHORNE, Renee ROLLASON, Kyah SIMON, Servet UZUNLAR and Emily VAN EGMOND.

Watch Socceroos captain Lucas Neill’s home debut for Sydney FC at Allianz Stadium against the current league leaders Central Coast Mariners on Saturday 9th March (kick off 5.30pm) when Sydney will look to make it six wins in a row at home. Tickets are available by clicking here from Ticketek.