Sydney FC Crowned Westfield W-League Champions


Sydney FC 4 (Huerta 6’, McCaskill 41’, 61’, Logarzo 70’) def. Perth Glory 2 (Kerr pen 23’, Mautz 68’)

Sydney FC are Champions of the Westfield W-League after a 4-2 Grand Final win over Perth Glory at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium.


Moments That Mattered:

  1. McCaskill Off The Bar – 2’ – Great work from Ibini on the left to cross to McCaskill who side foots off the bar from close range.
  2. Huerta Goal – 6’  – MacCaskill tees up Huerta who rifles an unstoppable shot into the top right corner of the net to give the Sky Blues the lead.
  3. Kerr Penalty – 23’ – Colaprico fouls Kerr in the box and the Glory striker gets up to fire home despite Bledsoe getting a hand to the ball.
  4. McCaskill Goal – 41’ – A cross from wide left by Foord finds McCaskill’s head and the US star loops her header over the stranded keeper.
  5. McCaskill Goal – 61’ – McCaskill controls a bouncing ball in the box and turns sharply to shoot low and beyond the keeper.
  6. Mautz Goal 68’ – A right wing corner falls to Maultz who hits it first time, looping it beyond Bledsoe.
  7. Logarzo Goal 70’ – Perth fails to clear a McCaskill cross and Logarzo smashes it home from distance.


Sydney FC have won the Westfield W-League Grand Final and been crowned 2018-19 Champions after a thrilling 4-2 win over Perth Glory at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium.

A brace from US International Savannah McCaskill plus two stunning strikes from Sofia Huerta and Chloe Logarzo secured the trophy in front of a record W-League Grand Final crowd of 6,127.

It’s the Sky Blues third Championship having made every Finals Series.


What they said:  Ante Juric:

“I’m very proud of the girls, they were sensational. In terms of the game it was great for spectators, both teams attacked so it was great for everyone.

“It’s probably the best game we’ve played.but with Sam Kerr and Hill they keep getting patches where they attack, so I thought the whole back four was sensational to stop that.

“The front third was exceptional, the amount of movement and defending and obviously the goals.

The big players stepped up, Savannah was huge the whole year and she’s been great all season. She’s a world class player, I’m surprised she’s not in the National Team but I’m sure she’ll get there.”

Player Of The Match Savannah McCaskill:

“Caitlin put an absolutely cracking ball in and I think I caught the keeper playing the cross a bit, I just put it on target and hoped for the best to be honest but it worked out.

“I didn’t think they [her parents from the USA] were going to make it but I got a text on Wednesday saying they’d book their flight, it was nice.

“I thought my dad was joking at first, there’s no way they’re flying 19 hours for one game but they were like ‘yeah we are’, it’s just amazing for them to be able to enjoy the moment as well.

“Winning trophies at the professional level are few and far between, this team was worked all season long to enjoy this moment and it’s really nice.”


Sydney FC: 1. Aubrey BLEDSOE, 2. Teresa POLIAS, 4. Elizabeth RALSTON, 5. Ally GREEN, 6. Chloe LOGARZO (8. Amy HARRISON 82’), 9. Caitlin FOORD, 10. Savannah McCaskill, 14. Alan KENNEDY, 20. Princess IBINI-ISEI (11. Lisa DE VANNA 75’), 22. Sofia HUERTA, 23. Danielle COLAPRICO.

Subs Not Used: 30. Trudy BURKE (GK), 3. Shadeene EVANS, 17. Angelique HRISTODOULOU.

Yellow Cards: Colaprico 23’, Harrison 89’,

Red Cards: None.

Perth Glory FC: 1. Eliza CAMPBELL (gk), 3. Kim CARROLL, 4. Alyssa MAUTZ, 5. Shannon MAY (14. Caitlin DOEGLAS 67’), 7. Nicole STANTON, 9. Rachel HILL, 11. Leticia McKENNA (15. Alexia MORENO 75’), 13. Jamie-Lee GALE, 20. Samantha KERR, 24. Natasha RIGBY, 25. Kathleen NAUGHTON.

Subs not used:  21. Morgan AQUINO, 2. Sarah CARROLL, 12. Jenna ONIONS.

Yellow Cards: Stanton 34’.

Red Cards: None

Ground: Netstrata Jubilee Stadium

Attendance: 6,127