Sydney FC Crowned Hyundai A-League Premiers For Record 4th Time


Hyundai A-League Champions Sydney FC are the Hyundai A-League 2019-20 Premiers for a record fourth time.

The historic achievement comes with Head Coach Steve Corica’s men securing an unassailable lead at the top of the ladder following Wellington Phoenix’s draw with Adelaide United this evening.

The record surpasses the three Premiers Plate titles the Sky Blues shared with Melbourne Victory.

Sydney FC Chairman Scott Barlow paid tribute to everyone involved with the club.

“An incredible night for our club and a remarkable achievement by a special group of players and coaches.

“Tonight we won our fourth Premiers Plate, a new record for an A-League club, and combined with our four Championship titles, adds to our club’s long history of success.

“The last few months has certainly had its challenges and I’d like to thank everyone at the club, including our passionate fans and Members, for their patience, professionalism and commitment to Sydney FC. This title belongs to all of you.”

The Premiers Plate win is Steve Corica’s first as Head Coach and follows his Championship success last season, in only his second season in charge.

“I am thrilled to have secured the Premiership tonight and delighted for our Sydney FC Members,” he said.

“I want to thank the club, my players and my staff who have been exceptional all season, and of course those fantastic Members for their support throughout what has been a very challenging time.

“We will enjoy this tonight, but we still have four games to go and targets left to hit.

“We want to go on and win the Grand Final and become back to back Champions, a feat achieved by only one other club.”

The Sky Blues will also hold the most outright Championships should they win the Hyundai A-League Grand Final next month. 

That would take them to five Championships, again surpassing Victory who only have four.