Sydney FC Confirm Foxtel Y-League Squad


Sydney FC have confirmed their Foxtel Youth League squad for the 2019/20 season, with Head Coach Jimmy van Weeren set for his first stint in the nation’s premier youth competition.

The Sky Blues’ squad is bristling with talent, including the likes of Joeys’ Captain Ryan Teague, along with fellow Joeys Anton Mlinaric, Adam Pavlesic and Cameron Peupion.

A number of the squad have already had exposure to a Hyundai A-League environment, with Marco Tilio, Jordi Swibel, Calem Nieuwenhof and Levi Kaye having trained alongside Head Coach Steve Corica’s squad.  

In total the Sky Blues’ have 10 players with international experience, all representing Australia at U-17/U-18 level.

There are eight players also returning from last season’s Foxtel Y-League squad, while the majority of the team were a part of Sydney FC’s most successful NPL NSW season in their history.


Head Coach Jimmy van Weeren said he was looking forward to his first season at the helm.

“I believe we’ve got a really talented playing group this season who can challenge for the title as is expected at Sydney FC,” van Weeren said.

“The majority of the squad have been with us since the first year of the Academy, joining as 13 or 14 year-olds, and it’s a great achievement to see them working their way into the Y-League squad.

“I’m looking forward to my first season as Head Coach in the competition, and seeing the players take another step on their path to becoming professional footballers.”

Sydney FC kick off their Foxtel Y-League 2019/20 season at home against the Newcastle Jets at Leichhardt Oval (kick off 4pm).

Sydney FC’s Foxtel Y-League Squad 2019/20

Aaron Gurd

Adam Pavlesic (gk)

Adrian Segicic*

Anton Mlinaric

Ben Koop

Calem Nieuwenhof

Calum Talbot

Cameron Fong

Cameron Peupion

Fletcher McFarlane

Jaiden Kucharski

Jake Hollman

Jayden Trenkoski

Jordi Swibel

Levi Kaye (gk)

Marco Tilio

Matteo Scali*

Mitchell Mattison*

Nathan Grimaldi*

Olayinka Sunmola

Patrick Wood*

Ryan Teague

Samuel Amey*

Scott Browning

Thomas Fay

Thomas Main

*Academy Pool (AP) registered players

thin Big Blue