Sydney FC Boost Goalkeeping Stocks


Sydney FC have today boosted their goalkeeping stocks with the signing of experienced and decorated gloveman Danny Vukovic on a two year deal.

Voted three times in the PFA Hyundai A-League Team of the Season, most recently for the Hyundai A-League 2014/15 season, Vukovic boasts a wealth of Hyundai A-League experience having featured 250 times in the domestic competition, earning a number of individual and team accolades.

After spells with Central Coast Mariners, Wellington Phoenix, Perth Glory and Melbourne Victory, during which he has claimed a Hyundai A-League Premiership and Westfield FFA Cup winner’s medal, he brings a winning mentality to Sydney FC.

He is also the most capped Hyundai A-League player in the competition’s history with the record for most clean sheets.

The Sydney born shot stopper said he was looking forward to the challenge of vying with Vedran Janjetovic for the number one spot.

“I feel privileged to have the chance to join Sydney FC and return to my home city at this point in my life,” Vukovic said.

“I’m extremely excited to be joining one of Australia’s iconic football clubs and am looking forward to getting started.

“I want to test myself and the competition for places and professionalism on offer at Sydney FC is second to none.

“Vedran is a fantastic goalkeeper, I believe we can push each other to our peak, and I’m eager to start training with him and working with Head Goalkeeping Coach John Crawley,” the 31 year old continued.

“Coming back to my home city is also a huge boost for me and my family for other personal reasons which will help me to perform at my best.”

Head Coach Graham Arnold said the Sky Blues have secured the Hyundai A-League’s most experienced player.

“With the acquisition of Danny Vukovic we now have two of the best goalkeepers in Australia on our books and I’m sure the competition for places between the pair will bring out the best in both,” he said.

Vukovic is expected to link up with his new team mates on Friday. 


Years                   Team                                   Apps   (Goals)

2002–2004           Parramatta Power               5          (0)

2004–2005           Bonnyrigg White Eagles   14         (0)

2005–2010           Central Coast Mariners  104         (0)

2010                    Konyaspor                              0             (0)

2010–2011           Wellington Phoenix          17         (1)

2011–2015           Perth Glory                      106            (0)

2014                    Vegalta Sendai (loan)            0          (0)

2015–2016           Melbourne Victory            23         (0)

National team

2006–2008           Australia U-23                  18             (0)


Hyundai A-League Premiership – 2007/08

Westfield FFA Cup – 2015

PFA A-League Team of the Season – 2009/10, 2013/14, 2014/15


Sydney FC Players Currently Contracted For 2016/17:

George Blackwood

Josh Brillante

Aaron Calver

David Carney

Milos Dimitrijevic

Rhyan Grant

Filip Holosko

Vedran Janjetovic

Matthew Jurman

Milos Ninkovic

Brandon O’Neill

Sebastian Ryall

Danny Vukovic

Alex Wilkinson

Michael Zullo


CLICK HERE to become a Sydney FC Member for Hyundai A-League season 2016/17.