Sydney Derby Ends All Square


Sydney FC 1 (Le Fondre 21’) drew with Western Sydney Wanderers 1 (Yeboah 82’)

Sydney FC have gained another point in their Premiership chase with a hard-earned draw against rivals Western Sydney Wanderers in the #SydneyDerby.

Moments That Mattered:

  1. Le Fondre Chance – 21’ – A counter-attack led by Barbarouses ends with Le Fondre firing a low shot but is saved by Lopar.
  2. Le Fondre Goal – 35’ – Le Fondre puts the Sky Blues ahead with a poached effort as Barbarouses’ original shot was parried by Lopar.
  3. Van Der Saag Chance – 77’ – The youngster gets straight into the action off the bench as he blasts his shot wide on the counter.
  4. Yeboah Goal – 82’ – The Wanderers grab an equaliser after Cox’s shot deflects off Yeboah.


A slow start to the game saw end-to-end action from both sides as Le Fondre shoots low and is denied by Lopar. 

Le Fondre then popped up to nab his 17th goal of the campaign to put the Sky Blues ahead in the 35th minute.

Van Der Saag almost makes an instant impact off the bench as a Yeboah deflection wrong-foots Redmayne and gives the Wanderers their equaliser late on.

Another point earned by the Sky Blues sees them push eight points clear at the top, edging closer to the Hyundai A-League Premiership.


What They Said: Luke Brattan: “Not good enough. No intensity, there wasn’t anything happening and we weren’t good enough.”

“[On the crowd] Can’t use that as an excuse, it’s on us.

“Players like me need to get the ball and make things happen. I think we need to do what we do, have the ball, keep the ball and tire teams out and penetrate them when we get the chance.”


Sydney FC: 1. Andrew REDMAYNE (GK), 4. Alexander WILKINSON, 5. Alexander BAUMJOHANN (21. Harry VAN DER SAAG 75’), 6. Ryan MCGOWAN, 8. Paulo Retre, 9. Adam LE FONDRE, 10. Milos NINKOVIC, 11. Kosta BARBAROUSES (12. Trent BUHAGIAR 80’), 16. Joel KING (7. Michael ZULLO 89’), 23. Rhyan GRANT, 26. Luke BRATTAN.

Subs Not Used: 3. Benjamin WARLAND, 19. Christopher ZUVELA, 20. Thomas HEWARD-BELLE (GK), 24. Marco TILIO. 

Yellow Cards: Paulo Retre 30’.

Red Cards: None.


Western Sydney Wanderers FC: 1. Daniel LOPAR (GK), 4. Dylan MCGOWAN, 5. Daniel GEORGIEVSKI, 6. Matthew JURMAN, 7. Mitchell DUKE, 8. Jordan O’DOHERTY (22. Nicholas SULLIVAN 73’), 10. Simon COX, 17. Keanu BACCUS, 24. Kwame YEBOAH (35. Mohamed ADAM 89’), 33. Tate RUSSELL (11. Bruce KAMAU 80’), 34. Patrick ZIEGLER.

Subs Not Used: 13. Tass MOURDOUKOUTAS, 23. Kostadinos GROZOS, 36. Jarrod CARLUCCIO, 50. Tristan PRENDERGAST (GK).

Yellow Cards: Jordan O’Doherty 66’

Red Cards: None.

Referee: Shaun Evans

Ground: Bankwest Stadium