Sky Blues Dominate PFA Team Of The Season


Sydney FC’s regular season dominance is on show with a record eight players named in the 2017/18 Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) A-League Team of the Season.

Voted on by the PFA’s A-League based members, the Sky Blues equalled their incredible feat from last season, while Grand Finalists Newcastle Jets (2) and Melbourne Victory (3) ensure that Saturday night’s blockbuster will not be short of star power.

Proudly supported by major partner LUCRF Super, the 2017/18 team is:

GOALKEEPER: Jamie Young (Brisbane Roar)

DEFENDERS: Luke Wilkshire (Sydney FC), Alex Wilkinson (Sydney FC), Rhys Williams (Melbourne Victory), Michael Zullo (Sydney FC)

MIDFIELDERS: Josh Brillante (Sydney FC), Luke Brattan (Melbourne City), Dimitri Petratos (Newcastle Jets)

FORWARDS: Adrian Mierzejewski (Sydney FC), Bobô (Sydney FC), Leroy George (Melbourne Victory)

SUBSTITUTES: Andrew Redmayne (Sydney FC), Bart Schenkeveld (Melbourne City), Isaias Sanchez (Adelaide United), Milos Ninkovic (Sydney FC), Andrew Nabbout (Newcastle Jets), Thomas Deng (Melbourne Victory), Daniel Arzani (Melbourne City)

COACH: Graham Arnold (Sydney FC)


2017/18 Johnny Warren Medal winner Adrian Mierzejewski expressed his delight at being named in the team.

“I’m very happy and proud of myself and I’m happy that I was appreciated this season,” he said.

“I’m there because of my team mates, they did a great job and put me there.

“We have eight players in the team and that shows that we had a great season, one game can’t change the whole year. We won the Premiership back to back, FFA Cup, Bobô was top scorer, Arnie was Coach of the Year, so it just shows that we had a great season.”

Sky Blues star Alex Wilkinson said the team reflected the Sky Blues’ domination of the 2017/18 season.

“It’s testament to the season we’ve had for sure,” Wilkinson said.

“It shows that as a team and individually that Sydney FC has had a great season and that’s reflected by how many Sky Blues were selected.

“These awards are special because they’re voted by the playing group so that makes it even more special.”

PFA Chief Executive John Didulica, speaking in place of PFA President Alex Wilkinson who was selected in the team, paid tribute to those selected in the team.

“There are so many fascinating dimensions to the team – some exciting young talent, new faces from different leagues, players who have rebuilt their careers and loyal club servants who just keep consistently performing at the highest level,” said Didulica.

“Once again, we thought it was important to recognise emerging talent by allocating two places for Under 23 players in the 17-man squad, those spots being filled by two genuinely exciting prospects in Daniel Arzani and Thomas Deng who have become entrenched in their respective first XIs.”

“Interestingly- and not through design – the side would comply with A-League Competition Regulations for next season, by featuring five foreign players – given we will have adopted the great Catalan, Isaias, as our own by then.”



Sydney FC’s night of nights the Sky Blue Ball in on Saturday 19 May at The Star, Sydney! Book your table now, or purchase gallery seating for only $25 and see your Sky Blue stars rewarded for all their achievements in 2017/18!