O’Neill & Polias Claim Top Awards


Sydney FC Hyundai A-League Champion and Socceroo Brandon O’Neill and Westfield W-League Champion and Captain Teresa Polias have taken out the top awards at Sydney FC’s glamorous night of nights, the Sky Blue Ball.

The Sky Blues’ midfield stars both had stellar campaigns as their sides romped to respective Championships and claimed the Player of the Year awards, as voted for by a select panel of football and coaching staff in the 2018/19 season.

Joining the Sky Blues in 2015, O’Neill has risen to become one of the first names on the teamsheet with a string of impressive performances, scoring penalties in both the Sky Blues’ 2017 and 2019 Hyundai A-League Championship shoot outs.

His performances in the past three seasons especially have drawn plaudits, with the Perth born star earning his first Socceroos call up following Sydney FC’s record-equalling fourth Championship success. 

“It’s an honour and privilege to be accepting the Player of the Year award,” O’Neill said.

“I’d like to thank all the squad, what a year it’s been. To Head Coach Steve Corica, all the coaching staff and backroom staff, thank you for making this such an enjoyable season.

“To all the Members and fans thank you so much for your support. We do everything we can week in week out for you guys and your support is really valuable.”

Polias with POTY award

Polias is a club stalwart, joining in 2010 and captaining the side for the past five seasons.

She has claimed her second Sydney FC Player of the Year accolade after guiding the Sky Blues’ to their third Westfield W-League crown. 

The 29-year-old midfielder said she was humbled by the award.

“It’s a huge honour to be named Player of the Year,” Polias said.

“It’s been a pleasure to lead this squad, it’s one of the best squads from my time here, and I couldn’t imagine playing with a greater group of players.

“This season has been fantastic, we promised to go one better than 2017/18 and we did.

“I’d like to thank all the staff, Members and fans for their guidance and support, thank you and I can’t wait for the new season now.”

Departing Captain Alex Brosque was also honoured on the evening, becoming the tenth inductee into the Sydney FC Hall of Fame.

Brosque’s efforts in guiding the Sky Blues in their most successful period in history, winning two Hyundai A-League Premierships, two Hyundai A-League Championships and an FFA Cup, will ensure his name lives long in the annals of Sydney FC.

“It’s an honour to be inducted into the Sydney FC Hall of Fame alongside some of the Legends of this club,” Brosque said.

“This club is like family to me, it’s been a privilege to call myself a Sky Blue and Sydney FC will forever hold a special place in my heart.”

Adam Le Fondre claimed the Hyundai A-League Golden Boot, leading from the front in his first season in Sky Blue, as Rhyan Grant took out the Members’ Player of the Year award following his industrious display at right full back, earning his maiden Socceroos cap in the process. Caitlin Foord claimed the Westfield W-League Golden Boot while Sydney FC’s defensive rock Liz Ralston was voted Members’ Player of the Year, both following stellar seasons.

Luke Ivanovic was named U20 Player of the Year while Princess Ibini and Ryan Teague both picked up Rising Star awards following their progression through the Sky Blues’ ranks.

Sydney FC General Manager, Commercial Partnerships, Jessica Allan received the Chairman’s Award from Sydney FC Chairman Scott Barlow, for her values promoting a strong culture and club first approach, as well as her longevity at Sydney FC.

Held at the Event Centre at our Principal Partner The Star, Sydney, guests and VIPs walked the iconic Sky Blue Carpet before moving inside for formalities and an unforgettable evening.


Winter Clinics Early Bird