Rams Comeback Downs Sky Blues


Sydney FC narrowly missed the chance to go top of the league as they went down 4-2 to Macarthur Rams at Lynwood Park on Saturday.

The Sky Blues dominated proceeding for the opening 45 minutes and they opened the scoring courtesy of a thunderous Nicola Kuleski 20 metre strike in the 19th minute.

The margin could have been extended prior to half time with chances falling to Bai Antoniou, William Mutch and Daniel Araujo but their efforts were either just wide of the mark or straight at the keeper.

The second period again saw the Sky Blues dominate early and Chris Arditti and Yianni Spyrakis called the Rams keeper into action both with stinging shots on goal.

A sweeping move down the left by Antoniou sent through Mutch on goal before Spyrakis  pounced on the loose ball to slot home the second and Sydney FC led 2-0 after 65 minutes.

The Rams found a way back into the match against the run of play as they worked their way to the edge of the box to create a low shot on goal which was parried away by Mitch Evans into the path of the oncoming striker with the deficit reduced to 2-1.

Within four minutes Macarthur levelled the scores at 2-2 and then just three minutes later took the lead 3-2 over a shell shocked Sky Blues.

As Sydney FC pushed forward in search of an equaliser they were caught out at the back with the last kick of the game in the 93rd minute as Macarthur scored for a 4-2 result.

Despite the loss Sydney FC remain just one point behind WSW on the ladder as their cross town rivals slipped up against Bankstown Berries 3-2.

With the Sydney FC U18’s winning 3-2 and the U20’s winning 8-1 to both sit in pole position of their respective leagues the Sky Blues still head up the Club Championship table by twelve points.

This Saturday sees Sydney FC take on Bankstown Berries at Lambert Park (kick off 7:45pm).

Sydney FC 2 (Nicola Kuleski 19′; Yianni Spyrakis 65′) defeated by Macarthur Rams 4

Line Up – Mitch Evans (GK); Nicola Kuleski; Patrick Flottmann; George Timotheou; Brendan Curtis; Yianni Spyrakis (C); Chris Zuvela (Mani Gonzalez 80′); Chris Arditti (Matt Green 80′); Bai Antoniou (Daniel Maskin 75′); Daniel Araujo; William Mutch

Subs Not Used: Nick Sorras (GK); Sam McIllhatton 

CLICK HERE to become a Sydney FC Member for Hyundai A-League season 2016/17.