Preview: Sydney FC v Brisbane Roar


This match is always a highlight on the Westfield W-League calendar and, with much at stake for both sides, fireworks can be expected at Lambert Park.

Sydney FC are just a point off the pace and Brisbane Roar only three points adrift of the top, but with a congested leaderboard there is little margin for error.

The two sides are also coming off defeats with Sydney FC’s loss in Perth a fortnight ago followed by a weekend off.

Brisbane Roar, more worryingly, somehow crashed to a 5-1 record loss against high-flying Canberra United. And an away match against their toughest rivals on the artificial surface in Sydney will be a massive test of resolve.

On the bright side, Brisbane Roar did win 2-1 against the Sky Blues when they met in Round 1 early in November. That result saw the Roar move a win clear of their rivals over the course of head-to-head match-ups in the Westfield W-League.

Sydney FC fans have much to look forward to with new superstar signing, Nigeria international Francisca Ordega, likely to line up. Equally exciting is the availability of Caitlin Foord who returns for the first time since being crowned Asian Women’s Player of the Year, following her brief absence with a foot injury.

Sydney FC v Brisbane Roar
Friday 23 December 2016
Venue: Lambert Park
Kick-Off: 7:30PM (Local)

Referee: Katie Patterson
Assistant Referee 1: Sarah Ho
Assistant Referee 2: Delfina Dimoski
Fourth Official: Kelly Jones

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #WLeague #BeReal

To purchase tickets visit www.w-league.com.au/tickets

Sydney FC squad: 1.Sham KHAMIS (gk), 2.Teresa POLIAS (c), 3.Remy SIEMSEN, 4.Elizabeth RALSTON, 6.Servet UZUNLAR, 7.Nicola BOLGER, 9. Caitlin FOORD, 10. Francisca ORDEGA, 11.Natalie TOBIN, 12.Olivia PRICE, 13.Georgia YEOMAN-DALE, 14.Alanna KENNEDY, 16.Hannah BACON, 15.Sarah EASTHOPE (gk), 17.Kyah SIMON, 19.Leena KHAMIS, 20.Princess IBINI. **two to be omitted**

Ins: 9. Caitlin Foord (return from injury), 10. Francisca Ordega (new signing)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: Nil

Brisbane Roar squad: 1.Mackenzie ARNOLD (gk), 2.Nina FRAUSING-PEDERSEN, 3.Amy CHAPMAN, 4.Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 5.Brooke SPENCE, 6.Angela BEARD, 7.Sunny FRANCO, 8.Kaitlyn TORPEY, 10.Katrina GORRY, 11.Maili FORBES, 12.Allira TOBY, 13.Tameka BUTT, 14.Summer O’BRIEN, 15.Abbey LLOYD, 17.Emily GIELNIK, 18.Maddy EVANS, 20.Georgina WORTH (gk) **two to be omitted**

Ins: 7.Sunny FRANCO (promoted), 11. Maili FORBES (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 9.Cortnee VINE (Fractured Fibula – 2 weeks)