Our Allianz Top 10: A-League Players


There’s been plenty of thrills and spills at Allianz Stadium during our last 13 years of competition there, so many so that we’re picking out our top 10.

Today we look at the stars in Sky Blue and pick out our Top 10 Hyundai A-League players to have graced Allianz, based on their performances and records.

With so many to choose from we’ve selected our top 10 in no particular order, check them out below…

1. Adrian Mierzejewski:

It’s hard to go past the Polish winger and 2017/18 Johnny Warren Medal winner. Adrian’s sublime skills, mixed with his creativity, vision and penchant for set pieces sees him make the list after only one season in Sky Blue, as he helped guided the squad to a first ever back to back Premierships.


2. Milos Ninkovic:

The 2016/17 Johnny Warren Medal played a crucial role in helping the Sky Blues eclipse Australian football records to be the best team in history, with a string of assists and goals, including the winning penalty to seal the Premiership and Championship double in 2017 at Allianz Stadium.


3. Bobô:

The two time Sydney FC Golden Boot, and 2017/18 Hyundai A-League Golden Boot, has scored a phenomenal 52 goals in 71 games for the Sky Blues since he joined in 2016. Scoring 27 goals in 27 games in season 2017/18, the Brazilian sits second on the Sky Blues all-time highest goalscoring charts.


4. Alex Brosque:

Sydney FC’s all-time leading goalscorer, highest all-time appearance maker and one of the club’s most decorated players. Brosque has guided the Sky Blues to four trophies as Captain and claimed another two as a player in 2010. His work rate, ethic and devotion to the club stand him in good stead to enter the club’s Hall of Fame.


5. Alessandro Del Piero:

One of, if not perhaps the biggest name to don a Sky Blues’ jersey, Alessandro Del Perio brought a new aura to the club when he joined in 2012. Displaying the silky skills that saw him light up the European stage for over 20 years, the Italian stands sixth on the Sky Blues’ all-time highest goalscoring charts, and hold the records for most goals scored in a single game for the club following his sensational four strikes at Allianz Stadium against Wellington Phoenix.


6. Steve Corica:

The Sky Blues’ current Head Coach and former number 10 and Captain, Corica sits third on the club’s all-time highest goalscoring charts and was an inaugural member of the club when they started in 2005. Corica scored the winning goal in the 2006 Grand Final and was a Member of the squad that claimed the double in 2010, and holds a place in Sydney FC’s Hall of Fame.


7. Clint Bolton:

Affectionately known as ‘Bootsa’, Clint Bolton was an inaugural member of Sydney FC and sits fifth on the club’s all-time appearances list. Bolton will be most fondly remembered for his save in the penalty shootout against Melbourne Victory in 2010 to claim the Sky Blues second Championship, and was voted Hyundai A-League Goalkeeper of the Year and Sydney FC Player of the Year in season 2005/06.


8. Dwight Yorke:

The first Sydney FC Captain to lift silverware at Allianz Stadium, in the 2006 Grand Final, and the star to score the first Hyundai A-League goal for the Sky Blues at the same ground, Dwight Yorke was Sydney FC’s inaugural marquee. Yorke lit up the league in his first season as a Sky Blue, helping guide the club to their first Championship while also being named Joe Marston Medal winner as the best player in the 2006 Grand Final.


9. David Carney:

One of the Sky Blues’ most decorated players over his two stints with the club, Carney boasts six trophies to his name and sits seventh on the highest all-time appearances charts and fourth on the all-time highest goalscoring charts.


10. Simon Colosimo:

A rock at the back for the Sky Blues, Colosimo was a standout in defence as the Sydney FC claimed the double in season 2009/10, with the centre back being named Joe Marston Medal winner for best player in the Hyundai A-League 2010 Grand Final.