Nine Man Sydney FC Defeat Perth


A nine man Sydney FC side defeated table topping Perth Glory 3-1 in a feisty game at nib Stadium in WA to keep their undefeated away record intact this season.

Perth Glory 1 (Kramar 73′) def by Sydney FC 3 (Janko 29′ pen, Dimitrijevic 69′ pen, Ibini 89′)

Penalties in each half from Marc Janko and Milos Dimitrijevic were followed by Bernie Ibini’s solo effort to secure all three points for the Sky Blues.

Both sides were reduced to ten men in the first half after Jacques Faty and Glory’s Dino Djulbic were sent off following a clash.  Sydney FC lost Nikola Petkovic to a second yellow card with 15 minutes to go in the game.


What they said

Marc Janko: “Big compliments to the boys today.  I thought how we fought today was very impressive and shows we are still alive.  I’m very proud of the team and think we were deserved winners.

“The sending offs opened up the game a little bit and benefitted Perth Glory with their long balls.  I think defensively we did a great job.”


29’ JANKO PENALTY – Brosque is pulled back in the box after a Sky Blues counter attack and Marc Janko steps up to fire into the roof of the net from 12 yards.

69’ DIMITRIJEVIC PENALTY – Janko is fouled in the box after a great ball to him by Brosque.  This time Dimitrijevic steps up to slot home.

73’ KRAMAR GOAL – A header from a left wing Perth Glory cross is blocked by Calver on the line and Kramar follows up the rebound.

89’ IBINI GOAL – Thwaite loses the ball to Ibini to give the striker a clear run on goal.  Ibini’s initial shot is saved but the Sky Blues front man heads the rebound into an empty net.


Key Moments

36’ SENT OFF – Faty and Djulbic fall to the floor after a Perth Glory corner and a melee ensues.  Once order is restored referee Kris Griffiths Jones sends both players off.

71’ SENT OFF – Nikola Petkovic stops the ball with his hand and receives a second yellow card.


Team News

Perth Glory 1 (Kramar 73′) def by Sydney FC 3 (Janko 29′, Dimitrijevic 69′, Ibini 89′)

Graham Arnold kept the same line up that beat Central Coast Mariners 5-1 in Gosford two weeks ago.  Terry Antonis returned to the bench at the expense of Peter Triantis.

Ground: nib Stadium

Referee:  Kris Griffiths Jones


Sydney FC:  20. Vedran JANJETOVIC, 6. Nikola PETKOVIC, 8. Milos DIMITRIJEVIC, 11. Bernie IBINI, 13. Christopher NAUMOFF (23. Rhyan GRANT 45’), 14. Alex BROSQUE (5. Matt JURMAN 72’), 16. Alex GERSBACH, 21. Marc JANKO, 25. Aaron CALVER 26. Jacques FATY, 27. Mickael TAVARES (17. Terry ANTONIS 55’).

Subs Not Used: 1. Ivan NECEVSKI, 9. Shane SMELTZ.

Yellow cards: Petkovic 28’, Gersbach 73’, Dimitrijevic 76’,

Red cards: Faty 36’, Petkovic 71’.


Perth Glory: 1. Danny VUKOVIC, 6. Dino DJULBIC, 8. Ruben ZADKOVICH, 9. Andy KEOGH, 10. Nebosa MARINKOVIC (20. Daniel DE SILVA 66’), 11. Richard GARCIA (3. Brandon O’NEILL 77’), 15. Jamie MACLAREN, 19. Josh RISDON, 21. Scott JAMIESON, 23. Michael THWAITE, 27. Dragan PALJIC (Denis KRAMAR 45’)

Subs Not Used: 18. Jack DUNCAN, 25 Mitchell OXBORROW.

Yellow cards:  Paljic 29’, Kramar 68’.

Red cards: Djulbic 36’

THE BIG GAME PACK – Sydney FC face some tough competition in a short space of time and we have bundled the games together for a great package, with savings of over 30% on single game ticket purchases. See the Sky Blues take on the Melbourne Victory, Central Coast Mariners, Brisbane Roar and Melbourne City for a discounted price and receive exclusive Members’ benefits!    CLICK HERE!