Matthew Jurman Takes Top Award


Sydney FC defender Matthew Jurman has taken out all three of the major Hyundai A-League awards tonight at Sydney FC’s glamorous night of nights, the Sky Blue Ball.

The central defender won the top award the Hyundai A-League Player of the Year, ahead of Milos Ninkovic, Filip Holosko and Brandon O’Neill, as voted for by a select panel of coaching staff on a 3-2-1 basis after each match.  

Taking home the Hyundai A-League Players’ Player of the Year award and the Members’ Player of the Year award as well, Jurman became only the second player to collect all three major Hyundai A-League awards after Milos Dimitrijevic won all three for season 2014/15.

Missing only two matches of the Hyundai A-League season, Jurman played every minute of all 25 games he featured in to become a rock in the Sky Blues defence, whilst also putting in a man of the match showing in the AFC Champions League, keeping $65 million dollar man Jackson Martinez quiet in the Sky Blues 2-1 home victory over the reigning Champions Guangzhou Evergrande.

Jurman said he was proud to win the awards as he set his sights on more success in the new season. 

“It’s a big honour to take home these awards,” Jurman said.

“It was great to hold down my position this year and not miss too many games, I felt my performances were good and I’m proud to be recognized with these three awards.

“I’d like to thank the fantastic Sydney FC Members and fans for your support, your backing has been excellent all season and has helped us achieve a piece of history for the club in the Champions League.” 

Off the back of a successful FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015 campaign with the Westfield Matildas, Westfield W-League central defender Alanna Kennedy earned the Sydney FC W-League Players’ Player of the Year award following her solid defensive displays which paved the way for a Westfield W-League Grand Final appearance.

Kennedy started 12 matches for the Sky Blues, playing every minute of each, and scored a spectacular free kick against Perth Glory at Lambert Park to ensure her name would feature amongst the post-season highlight reels.

Currently competing in the United States in the National Women’s Soccer League for Western New York Flash, Kennedy said she was thrilled to have taken out the top award for the Westfield W-League season.

“I’m really honoured to have been voted the Players’ Player of the Year,” Kennedy said.

“It was an enjoyable season with a great group of girls and staff.”

Foxtel National Youth League midfielder Daniel Araujo was voted the Sydney FC Youth League Players’ Player of the Year following his scintillating displays in the Sky Blues Foxtel National Youth League Championship winning side. 

International marquee Filip Holosko picked up the Sydney FC Golden Boot, with 10 goals, as Kyah Simon took home the Westfield W-League Golden Boot for her six goals in 12 appearances.

Sydney FC General Manager Digital, Media and Communications David Warriner was presented with the Chairman’s Award for his tireless efforts and continued hard work and dedication to the club, while former Westfield W-League Head Coach and current Westfield Matildas Head Coach Alen Stajcic became the ninth inductee into Sydney FC’s Hall of Fame.

Held at the historic Sydney Cricket Ground, guests and VIPs were treated to pre-match drinks on 60 metres of Sky Blue Carpet on the iconic SCG pitch, before moving inside for formalities, with entertainment provided by “The Voice – 2015” runner up Joe Moore and band.

Sydney FC 2016/17 Memberships on sale June. Register your interest by signing up at http://my.sydneyfc.com