Match Preview: Sydney FC v Adelaide United


Sydney FC will be out for FFA Cup Final revenge when they host Adelaide United at Jubilee Stadium on Sunday evening.

That clash at Coopers Stadium was an enthralling end-to-end match and a repeat is possible in Kogarah as Sydney FC look to bounce back from a 3-1 loss at Perth Glory on Wednesday evening that ended their run of four straight wins.

Adelaide, on the other hand, won on Wednesday, toppling rivals Melbourne Victory 2-0 as, perhaps ominously, Craig Goodwin scored another goal.

Sydney FC have had no problems scoring in recent weeks and the Sky Blues have history on their side – Adelaide United have not beaten them in the Hyundai A-League since April 2016 when a Bruce Djite double gave the Reds a 2-0 away win.

Key Opta stats

  • Adelaide United have not scored against Sydney FC in their last three meetings in New South Wales.
  • Sydney FC are undefeated in their last seven Hyundai A-League games against Adelaide, conceding just one goal in that time.
  • Sydney FC have won their last two games at Jubilee Stadium, scoring 7 goals. 


Ins and Outs

Sydney FC squad: 1.Andrew REDMAYNE (gk), 2.Aaron CALVER, 4.Alex WILKINSON, 6.Josh BRILLANTE, 7.Michael ZULLO, 8.Paulo RETRE, 9.Adam LE FONDRE, 10.Milos NINKOVIC, 11. Daniel DE SILVA, 13.Brandon O’NEILL, 14.Alex BROSQUE (c), 17. Anthony CACERES, 18.Jacob TRATT, 20.Alex CISAK (gk), 21.Charles LOKOLI-NGOY, 22.Siem DE JONG, 24.Cam DEVLIN, 31.Luke IVANOVIC.

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 21.Charles LOKOLI-NGOY (promoted), 24.Cam DEVLIN (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 3.Ben WARLAND (foot – 1 weeks), 5.Jop van der LINDEN (hamstring – 2 weeks), 12.Trent BUHAGIAR (ACL – indefinite), 19.Chris ZUVELA (knee – indefinite), 23. Rhyan GRANT (International Duty)

Adelaide United squad: 1.Daniel MARGUŠ (gk), 2.Michael MARRONE, 3.Scott GALLOWAY, 4.Ryan STRAIN, 6.Vince LIA, 7.Ryan KITTO, 8.Isaías SÁNCHEZ (c), 10.Ken ILSØ, 11.Craig GOODWIN, 14.George BLACKWOOD, 16.Nathan KONSTANDOPOULOS, 17.Nikola MILEUSNIĆ, 20.Paul IZZO (gk), 22.Michael JAKOBSEN, 23.Jordan ELSEY, 26.Ben HALLORAN, 27.Louis D’ARRIGO, 31.Mirko BOLAND

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 6.Vince LIA (returns from suspension), 31.Mirko BOLAND (returns from injury)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 9.Baba DIAWARA (knee), 18.Lachlan BROOK (knee), 33.Apostolos STAMATELOPOULOS (quad)


Let the Sky Blues entertain you in a great evening of football at Jubilee Stadium! Be there as Sydney FC battle Adelaide United. Don’t miss this one, secure your seats today here.


Thin ADL