Lolley And McLean Take Out Top Season Awards

Sydney FC’s five-time major trophy winning defender Charlotte McLean and goalscoring English winger Joe Lolley have taken out the Player of the Year Awards at Sydney FC’s prestigious Sky Blue Ball.   

Centre-half McLean has had an immense season helping the Sky Blues to back to back Championships, with the Liberty A-Leagues’ best defence ensuring Sydney FC became the first team to win five Championship crowns.

McLean was also named in the PFA Women’s Team Of The Season with Lolley selected in the Men’s equivalent.

The former English Premier League forward scored 13 goals, jointly taking out the Golden Boot with Fabio Gomes, and secured 13 assists in all competitions to put in a fantastic season.

McLean played every minute of all 28 games this season, kept 12 clean sheets and scored one goal.

“I’m so proud to have won this award and to have helped Sydney FC to another title with this wonderful group of team-mates,” she said.

“It tops off another excellent season, possibly the toughest yet, so to get this recognition is a huge honour and something I’ll remember for a long time.

“Our staff and squad have all been amazing this season and I could not have achieved this without their help, so I’d like to thank them all,” she said,

“I must also thank my friends and family and the Sydney FC Members for their support, which as always is second to none.”

Mackenzie Hawkesby was voted Women’s Members Player of the Year.

The pair claimed the top awards of the night as voted for by a select panel of Sydney FC football and coaching staff during the 2023/24 season.

Lolley wins the top gong in his second season at Sydney FC where he celebrated by signing a new two year contract.

The 31-year-old winger was also named Members Player Of The Year, on top of his Alex Tobin Award and Mark Viduka Medal and was ecstatic to have received the accolade.

“It means a lot to me to be named Sydney FC Player of the Year,” he said.

“It has been a great year, one of my best in my career and I would like to thank my team-mates, the coaches, Sydney FC Members and everyone at the club. 

“It’s a real honour to play for this fantastic club especially for our amazing fans and I can’t wait to get going again next season.”

Cortnee Vine claimed the A-League Women’s Golden Boot, with Mackenzie Hawkesby winning Women’s Members’ Player of the Year.

Harry Simmons won Powerchair Players’ Player of the Year Award.

Siblings Corey and Shay Hollman were named U20 Players of the Year while Sydney FC NPL NSW youngster Marin France picked up the Rising Star award.

Harry Simmons won Powerchair Players’ Player of the Year Award.

Sydney FC Head Of Fan Engagement and NPL Assistant Coach Howard Fondyke received the Chairman’s Award for his exceptional mentoring of Sydney FC’s Academy players, his strategic thinking within the Sky Blues commercial team and playing a key role in growing Sydney FC’s footprint overseas.

Sydney FC would like to acknowledge and thank Billbergia for supporting the Women’s Player of the Year and the U20 Players of the Year.”