Ins & Outs | Grant 300 & Girls Premiership Battle

Both Head Coaches have selected their squads for the return to Allianz Stadium.

Rhyan Grant features in what will be his 300th Sydney FC match, meanwhile Ante Juric’s girls have the chance to create history as they look to clinch the Premiers Plate for the third consecutive season.


As Rhyan Grant prepares for his 300th Sydney FC game, he has been included in the squad for the challenge of Western United.

Also in the squad for the first time since the middle of February is Adam Le Fondre who is back and ready to contribute on Saturday.

Max Burgess returns from suspension after his appeal to have his red card downgraded was unsuccessful. Burgess served a two match suspension and he will be looking forward to getting back out onto the pitch.

Max Burgess is back in the squad

Matthew Scarcella is also included in the squad after he made the bench for the trip to Melbourne and Auckland and the youngster will be hoping to make his Sydney FC debut at home in front of his friends and family.

Paulo Retre misses this one through suspension after accumulating too many yellow cards and will sit out this weekend.

Alex Parsons picked up a knee injury prior to the Sydney Derby and he will spend another week or two on the sideline as her makes his way back to full fitness.

The Squad

Sydney FC squad: 1. Andrew REDMAYNE (GK), 2. James DONACHIE, 3. Joel KING, 4. Alex WILKINSON ©, 6. Jack RODWELL, 9. Adam LE FONDRE, 10. Joe LOLLEY, 11. Robert MAK, 12. Pat WOOD, 17. Anthony CACERES, 18. Diego CABALLO, 19. Adrian SEGECIC, 20. Thomas HEWARD-BELLE (GK), 22. Max BURGESS, 23. Rhyan GRANT, 25. Jaiden KUCHARSKI, 26. Luke BRATTAN, 28. Jake GIRDWOOD-REICH, 29. Aaron GURD, 32. Matthew SCARCELLA. 

(2-4 to be omitted)

Ins: 9. Adam LE FONDRE (return from injury), 22. Max BURGESS (return from suspension), 32. Matthew SCARCELLA (promoted).

Outs: 8. Paulo RETRE (suspended).

Unavailable: 21. Alex PARSONS (injured).

Match Details

Sydney FC v Western United
Isuzu UTE A-League Round 22
Saturday 1st April 2023
Allianz Stadium, Sydney, NSW
Kick Off: 7:45pm AEDT
Gates Open: 4:45pm AEDT
Broadcast Live: Paramount+ & 10Bold
Tickets: Click Here


Ante Juric has named a strong squad for the challenge of the Newcastle Jets on Saturday afternoon and continues to provide opportunities for younger players on the big stage.

Indiana Dos Santos made Sydney FC history when she became the youngest ever goal-scorer at the club, aged 15. Her sister Jynaya Dos Santos is included in the 20 player squad also as she attempts to make a claim to a starting position.

Girls celebrating Indiana’s goal

17-year-old Anika Stajcic made her Liberty A-League debut against Perth Glory on Wednnesday night and she retains her spot in the squad too. Anika is the daughter of former Sydney FC Women’s coach Alen Stajcic and it was great to see her given the opportunity to shine.

Shay Hollman started from the bench on Wednesday night along with Madison Haley as they both come back from injuries and with one regular season game remaining, they will be looking to get back into the Starting XI prior to the finals series.

Charlotte McLean remains on the sideline along with Taylor Ray.

The Squad

Sydney FC squad: 1. Jada WHYMAN (GK), 2. Mary STANIC-FLOODY, 4. Anna GREEN, 5. Kirsty FENTON, 6. Sarah HUNTER, 7. Teigan COLLISTER, 8. Rachel LOWE, 9. Madison HALEY, 11. Cortnee VINE, 12. Natalie TOBIN (c), 14. Abbey LEMON, 15. Mackenzie HAWKESBY, 16. Deborah-Anne DE LA HARPE, 17. Jynaya DOS SANTOS, 19. Charlize RULE, 20. Princess IBINI, 21. Shay HOLLMAN, 22. Indiana DOS SANTOS, 26. Anika STAJCIC, 30. Katie OFFER (GK).

(4 to be omitted)

Ins: 2. Mary STANIC-FLOODY (promoted), 7. Teigan COLLISTER (promoted), 14. Abbey LEMON (promoted), 17. Jynaya DOS SANTOS (promoted). 

Outs: None.

Unavailable: 3. Charlotte MCLEAN (expected 2 weeks – fractured cheekbone), 18. Taylor RAY (injured).

Match Details

Sydney FC v Newcastle Jets
Liberty A-League Round 20
Saturday 1st April 2023
Allianz Stadium, Sydney, NSW
Kick Off: 5:00pm AEDT
Gates Open: 4:45pm AEDT
Broadcast Live: Paramount+ & 10Play
Tickets: Click Here