How the Finals Series works

With the Sydney FC Women crowned Champions, the attention now turn to the Men’s side as they chase glory in the Finals Series.

The winner of the Isuzu UTE A-League Championship is determined in a five-week Finals Series that starts this weekend for the Sky Blues with an Elimination Final against Western Sydney Wanderers.


In the first week, the top two sides won’t be in action as they have advanced to the two-legged Semi Finals already, which belongs to Melbourne City and Central Coast Mariners. While they have a week off, third host sixth and fourth entertain fifth in Elimination Finals on the weekend of Friday, May 5. Adelaide United (3rd) will host Wellington Phoenix on Friday night, while Wanderers host Sydney FC on the Saturday.

Max Burgess scored the winner the last time against the Wanderers

The winners of those games face first and second in two-legged Semi Finals, with the lowest-ranked Elimination Final winner to face premiers Melbourne City and the higher-ranked team to play the Central Coast Mariners.

The first leg is hosted by the lower-ranked team on the weekend of Friday, May 12, before the return leg takes place the following week at the higher-ranked team’s home ground, meaning that should Sydney FC progress against the Western Sydney Wanderers, they will have a home game on the weekend of the 12th of May.

The Away Goals rule will not be used in the Semi Final.

Lolley tussling for the ball

The winners of each two-legged Semi Final on an aggregate score over the two legs, advance to the Grand Final which will take place on Saturday, June 3.

Tickets for the Sydney Derby will go on sale to the General Public at 4pm on Tuesday via Ticketek. Grab them here.